

REPORT OF THE NCAA HIGH SCHOOL REVIEW COMMITTEE APRIL 14, 2020, VIDEOCONFERENCE

<u>ACTION ITEMS.</u>

1. Legislative items.

• None.

2. Nonlegislative items.

• The high school review committee discussed review standards and proposed revisions to its policies and procedures regarding revised transcripts. The committee will review written changes to the policies and procedures and conduct an electronic vote at a future date.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. Welcome and opening remarks. High school review committee chair Brad Rathgeber convened the meeting at 1 p.m. and welcomed the committee members and NCAA staff members in attendance.
- 2. Staff update. NCAA Eligibility Center Vice President Felicia Martin provided an update on the state of the department. NCAA Eligibility Center director Sarah Overpeck provided an update on the unit goals and alignment with the department mission and vision. NCAA Eligibility Center associate directors Christa Palmer and Amy Routt provided updates on high school review staff members, recently completed work and upcoming projects.
- **3.** Review and discuss revised high school transcript consideration. NCAA Eligibility Center assistant directors Justin Ayres and Beth Newman briefed the committee on historical procedures and review thresholds for revised high school transcripts. The committee recommended a standard of review that aligns with other review standards in the high school review committee policies and procedures, as well as a connection to the existing appellate process for non-favorable decisions. These recommendations will be reflected in the written changes to the policies and procedures.
- 4. Review and discuss core-course criteria for college and career readiness courses. Amy Routt and NCAA Eligibility Center assistant director Matt Harris provided background information on the application of criteria for review of social science core courses in the area of college and career readiness. In the absence of course- or genre-specific criteria, the committee recommended deferring to the general social science criteria for review of such courses. The committee supported a proposal for staff to draft course-specific criteria for review in the area of social science as it relates to college and career readiness courses.

- **5.** Review and discuss nontraditional core-course legislation. Christa Palmer provided context for a discussion of modernizing the existing nontraditional core-course legislation (Bylaw 14.3.1.2.2). The committee expressed a desire to revisit the discussion at a future meeting, given the uncertainty surrounding nontraditional courses and programs due to COVID-19.
- 6. Review and discuss *Withdrawn* account and program status. Christa Palmer shared background information on the implications of the *Withdrawn* status for accounts and programs when additional prospective student-athletes present coursework from such accounts or programs after withdrawal from the review process. The committee recommended that staff continue to prompt optional re-engagement of accounts or programs in those instances.
- 7. Closing remarks. Sarah Overpeck notified the committee of an electronic vote on new policies, as well as a teleconference to discuss high school review case studies April 23, 2020.
- 8. Adjournment. The videoconference was adjourned at approximately 5 p.m.

Committee Chair:	Brad Rathgeber, One Schoolhouse
Staff Liaisons:	Sarah Overpeck, Eligibility Center

High School Review Committee April 14, 2020, Videoconference	
Attendees:	
Michael Allison, Hopewell High School	
Mary Anne Butler, Stonington Public Schools	
Kendra Greene, North Carolina Central University	
Kedra Ishop, University of Michigan	
Alyssa Morales Kelly, Hofstra University	
William Morrison, Highland Park High School	
Brad Rathgeber, One Schoolhouse	
Maureen Smith, California State University, Sacramento	
Jessica Swiney, King University	
Absentees:	
None.	
Guests in Attendance:	
None.	
Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:	
Justin Ayres, Michele Babb, Gary deCastro, Bridgit Goss, Matt Harris, Felicia Martin, Beth Newman,	
Kaylen Overway, Christa Palmer, Emilie Rains, Amy Routt, and Kevin Taylor	