

REPORT OF THE NCAA COMMITTEE ON WOMEN'S ATHLETICS OCTOBER 23, 2024, MEETING

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- **1. Welcome.** Committee on Women's Athletics chair Ragean Hill welcomed committee members to the virtual meeting.
- 2. Review and approve the Committee on Women's Athletics September 26, 2024, report. The committee approved the report from its September 26 in-person meeting.
- **3. Overview of the NCAA Woman of the Year award.** The committee received an overview of the 2024 NCAA Woman of the Year award, which honors graduating female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership.

A record 627 nominations were submitted for the 2024 award. The Woman of the Year Selection Committee worked diligently to choose the Top 30 nominees (10 from each division) and then select the Top 9 nominees (three from each division) to position the committee to select the overall winner.

- 4. Selection of the NCAA 2024 Woman of the Year. The committee reviewed the nominations of the nine finalists and selected the 2024 winner.
- 5. NCAA Woman of the Year award ceremony. The 2024 NCAA Woman of the Year will be announced at the award ceremony held January 15, 2025, during the 2025 NCAA Convention. Announcements sharing information about the Top 30 and Top 9 honorees will be released later this fall.
- 6. Other Business. NCAA staff reminded the committee that all three NCAA divisions will vote on legislation in January 2025 to establish the new Committee on Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging. If approved, this new committee will begin meeting in the fall of 2025. Staff shared that the nomination process is open for the selection of members to the new committee through October 31, 2024.
- 7. Adjournment. The meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m. Eastern time.

Committee Chair: Ragean Hill, University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Staff Liaisons: Maison Hubbard, Academic and Membership Affairs. Micaela Liddane, Championships and Alliances. Ashlesha Lokhande, Office of Inclusion. Gretchen Miron, Office of Inclusion.

NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics
October 23, 2024, Meeting

Attendees:

Greg Bamberger, Fairmont State University.

Katherine Rowe Fell, University of Findlay.

Sharief Hashim, Susquehanna University.

Ragean Hill, University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Marybeth Lamb, Bridgewater State University.

Katherine Loh, Florida Southern College.

Gabriella Miller, Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Michael Perez, California State University, Fullerton.

Chuck Sack, Neumann University.

Steve Stoute, Canisius College.

Sean Sullivan, Salve Regina University.

Marion Terenzio, State University of New York at Cobleskill.

Dawn Turner, Lander University.

Betsey Walkowiak, University of Detroit Mercy.

Absentees:

Laura Amaya, Roberts Wesleyan University

Quinton Ross, Alabama State University.

Tracy Shoemake, Texas State University.

NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:

Ashlesha Lokhande and Gretchen Miron.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance for Portions of the Meeting:

Sorelle Ineza, Melody Lawrence, Felicia Martin, and Amy Wilson