

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION III MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE NOVEMBER 21, 2019, TELECONFERENCE

<u>ACTION ITEMS</u>.

• None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. Welcome and Announcements. The call commenced at 1:01 p.m. Eastern time Thursday, November 21, 2019. NCAA Division III Membership Committee chair, Laura Mooney, welcomed committee member Michael Frandsen, Wittenberg University, to his second call, and welcomed new committee member Monique McLean, Trinity Washington University.
- 2. Roster and Conflict of Interest. Committee members were reminded of the NCAA Conflict of Interest Policy and proper procedures for recusal if a conflict of interest might arise. Committee members followed the recusal procedures during all deliberations.
- 3. **Review October 18, 2019, Teleconference Report.** The committee reviewed and approved its October 18, 2019, teleconference report.

Review MacMurray College sports-sponsorship case. The committee denied a request from MacMurray College for a waiver of NCAA Bylaw 20.11.3.8 (minimum contests and participants). Specifically, the institution failed to meet minimum sports-sponsorship requirements in women's cross country. In its denial, the committee noted that the institution is accountable to maintain viable rosters throughout a team's playing season. The committee further noted that within the waiver materials, the institution provided no explanation for the situation in women's golf and no evidence to demonstrate that it acted during the season to mitigate the loss of the injured cross-country student-athlete that occurred at the beginning of the season. Additionally, the committee noted that the institution was not aware of its failure to meet sports sponsorship requirements in women's cross country until notified by NCAA staff. The committee encourages the institution to improve its monitoring of women's sports.

4. **Report on outcomes of the 2018-19 sports-sponsorship audit.** Staff informed the committee that eight institutions were randomly selected to be audited to ensure satisfaction of sports-sponsorship requirements for the 2018-19 academic year, and one was found to have fallen short of sports-sponsorship minimums.

Following submission of the annual sports-sponsorship data, the NCAA research staff identified two institutions that appeared to not meet sports-sponsorship minimums. These two institutions were reviewed 'for cause' by staff. One institution had previously submitted or received a waiver by the Membership Committee. The other institution appeared to have not met the sports-sponsorship minimum requirements nor sought relief through a waiver. The staff followed-up with that institution, and the institution indicated it erred in coding its outdoor track and field teams mixed instead of coding a separate men's outdoor track and field team and a separate women's outdoor track and field team. The institution contacted the NCAA research department to correct the error.

5. Discuss plans for 2020 NCAA Convention social reception. The committee discussed the format for the new member social reception to be held at the 2020 NCAA Convention. It was agreed that the format would remain unchanged after two consecutive years of positive feedback.

Staff encouraged committee members to attend is schedule permits.

6. Adjournment. The committee concluded its business and adjourned at 1:21 p.m. Eastern time.

Committee Chair: Laura Mooney, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts Staff Liaisons: Eric Hartung, Division III Research, primary liaison Tiffany Alford, Academic and Membership Affairs Corey Berg, Academic and Membership Affairs

NCAA Division III Membership Committee
November 21, 2019, Teleconference
Attendees:
William Fell, United States Merchant Marine Academy.
Michael Frandsen, Wittenberg University.
Charles Harris, Averett University.
Jessica Huntley, Atlantic East Conference.
Charles Jacobs, St. Norbert College.
Erica Lemm, Mount Holyoke College.
Monique McLean, Trinity Washington University.
Laura Mooney, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts.
Elliott Strickland, Pennsylvania College of Technology.
Absentees:
Megan Valentine, Hilbert College.
Guests in Attendance:
None.
NCAA Staff Support in Attendance:
Tiffany Alford, Corey Berg, and Eric Hartung.
Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:
None.