

# REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION II STUDENT-ATHLETE ADVISORY COMMITTEE SEPTEMBER 25, 2022, VIDEOCONFERENCE

## **ACTION ITEMS.**

None.

## **INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.**

- 1. Election of External Communications Coordinator. The committee elected Leshlie Ramirez, independent representative, to serve as the external communications coordinator. She will begin serving in the role immediately, and her appointment will conclude when her committee term of service ends following the 2023 NCAA Convention.
- 2. Overview of 2023 NCAA Convention Division II Legislation and Legislative Grids. The committee was provided an overview of the 2023 NCAA Convention legislative proposals that are sponsored by the Division II Presidents Council and the Division II membership. They also received an overview of the legislative grids that campus SAACs will complete and share with their national SAAC representative by October 17. National SAAC representatives should send their conference's completed legislative grids to the committee's vice chair, Ismael Contreras, by October 24. National SAAC will review the feedback from the legislative grids and determine its official positions on the 2023 Convention proposals during its November meeting.

# 3. Future Meetings.

- a. Nov. 19-20, 2022; videoconference.
- b. Jan. 10-14, 2023, in conjunction with 2023 NCAA Convention; San Antonio.
- c. April 13-16, 2023, in conjunction with SAAC Super Region Convention; Pittsburgh.
- d. July 14-16, 2023; SAAC/Management Council Summit; Indianapolis.
- e. Nov. 2023, in conjunction with SAAC Super Region Convention; date and location TBD.
- f. Jan. 9-13, 2024; in conjunction with 2024 NCAA Convention; Phoenix, Arizona.

Committee Chair: Wiley Cain, Kentucky Wesleyan College, Great Midwest Athletic Conference

Ryan Jones, Governance

Amanda Benzine, Women's Basketball

Marcus Brown, Academic and Membership Affairs

Haydyn Gibson, Governance

\_

# NCAA Division II Student-Athlete Advisory Committee September 25, 2022, Videoconference

### **Attendees:**

Laura Amaya, Roberts Wesleyan University, East Coast Conference.

Kara Amos, Missouri Southern State University, Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association.

Michaela Boyd, Palm Beach Atlantic University, Sunshine State Conference.

Zach Brown, University of North Georgia, Peach Belt Conference.

Wiley Cain, Kentucky Wesleyan College, Great Midwest Athletic Conference.

Davaris Cheeks, Concordia University, St. Paul, Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.

Ismael Contreras, Purdue University Northwest, Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Nicholas Dill, Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Great American Conference.

Cullen Dore, Francis Marion University, Conference Carolinas.

Molly Hansen, University of Montevallo, Gulf South Conference.

Shani Idlette, Clark Atlanta University, Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Emma Kramer, Simon Fraser University, Great Northwest Athletic Conference.

Margaret Ann Langheim, Mars Hill University, South Atlantic Conference.

Bianca Lockamy, Virginia Union University, Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association.

Grace Martin, West Virginia State University, Mountain East Conference.

David Mayser, University of Hawaii at Hilo, Pacific West Conference.

Courtney Medwin, West Chester University, Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference.

Austin Mondello, Colorado Mesa University, Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference.

Skylar Ross, Dominican University New York, Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference.

Cam Trudell, Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Thomas Webb Jr., Western New Mexico University, Lone Star Conference.

Kiana Wiggins, Caldwell University, At-Large.

Katie Williamson, Southern Connecticut State University, Northeast-10 Conference.

### **Absentees:**

Marty Gilbert, Mars Hill University, South Atlantic Conference.

Leshlie Ramirez, University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez, Independent.

Corbin Thaete, California State University, San Marcos, California Collegiate Athletic Association.

Sandra Woodley, University of Texas Permian Basin, Lone Star Conference.

### NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Amanda Benzine, Susan Britsch, Haydyn Gibson, Chelsea Hooks, Maritza Jones, Ryan Jones and Liv Sappington.