

### REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION II MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE APRIL 1, 2025, VIDEOCONFERENCE

#### ACTION ITEMS.

None.

#### INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. Presentation from vendor regarding the progress of institutions in the provisional membership process. The committee received a vendor presentation regarding the on-campus visits conducted in spring 2025 to institutions in the membership process. The following institutions were discussed:
  - a. Jessup University;
  - b. Menlo College;
  - c. Point Park University;
  - d. Roosevelt University;
  - e. Sul Ross State University;
  - f. Thomas More University;
  - g. University of California, Merced;
  - h. University of Jamestown;
  - i. University of South Carolina, Beaufort;
  - j. University of Texas at Dallas; and
  - k. Vanguard University.

[NOTE: Melanie Brunsdon, senior woman administrator, Winona State University, recused themselves from the discussion regarding the University of Jamestown; Troy Dell, director of athletics, Frostburg State University, recused themselves from the discussion regarding Point Park University; Kris Dunbar, commissioner, Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, recused themselves from the discussion regarding Roosevelt University; Cindy McKnight, director of athletics/senior woman administrator, Ursuline College, recused themselves from the discussion regarding Thomas More University; James Reid, director of athletics, Angelo State University, recused themselves from the discussion regarding Sul Ross State University and the University of Texas at Dallas; and Christina Whetsel, associate athletics director for compliance and administration/senior woman administrator, Augusta

\_\_\_\_\_

University, recused themselves from the discussion regarding the University of South Carolina, Beaufort.]

- 2. Update on the requirements for the provisional membership process regarding Menlo College. The committee received an update regarding Menlo College's attendance at the Division II business session during the 2025 NCAA Convention.
- 3. Review of proposals from vendors. The committee reviewed and discussed proposals submitted by various vendors for each program listed below. The committee also selected a vendor for each program.
  - a. Post-application site visits; and
  - b. Compliance Blueprint Program.
- 4. Active member issues. The committee received an update regarding the merger between Bloomfield College and Montclair State University (Division III), which was executed as of July 1, 2024. Since the committee's February videoconference, NCAA staff received clarification from the institution regarding its accreditation status and Bloomfield College's plan related to Division II sports sponsorship requirements. Upon its review, the committee requested that NCAA staff provide an additional reminder to Bloomfield College regarding the Division II sports sponsorship requirements and the institutional impact should the institution fail to meet the minimum requirements during the 2024-25 academic year.

Additionally, the committee received an update that the proposed merger between the University of Findlay and Bluffton University (Division III) is no longer being pursued at this time.

Further, the committee received an update on the acquisition of Post University by the Universidad Andres Bello (UNAB), which was finalized in December 2024. Upon its review, the committee affirmed that while the ownership of Post University has changed, both institutions are recognized and operating as an independent, stand-alone institution. Therefore, Post University will remain an active member of Division II following the acquisition with access to the full benefits of NCAA Division II membership that are provided to for-profit institutions.

Finally, the committee received an update on the ongoing accreditation issues involving Saint Augustine's University. Staff will continue to monitor this issue and will update the committee when a final outcome has been reached.

5. Update regarding institution seeking reclassification from Division II to Division III. The committee received an update regarding Azuza Pacific University's intention to submit an application for reclassification to Division III by the February 2026 deadline.

- \_\_\_\_
- 6. Update regarding the 2024-25 Sports Sponsorship and Demographic Form. The committee received an update regarding the process for the submission of the 2024-25 Sports Sponsorship and Demographic (SSD) Form. Specifically, it was noted that upon reviewing the Division II sports sponsorship membership requirements, NCAA staff became aware that there is some necessary data that has not been collected through the annual submission of the SSD Form. As a result, in addition to the submission of the SSD Form, each institution will be required to submit data in individual sports regarding the participant count for each contest. Staff is working internally to add the data collection to future iterations of the SSD Form.
- 7. Approval of the Membership Committee February 11, 2025, videoconference report. The committee reviewed and approved the report from its February 11, 2025, videoconference.
- 8. Future meetings/videoconferences dates.
  - a. July 8-9, 2025, in-person meeting; Indianapolis.
  - b. September 2025, videoconference; date and timing to be determined.
  - c. November 6, 2025, videoconference; timing to be determined.
  - d. February 2026, videoconference; date and timing to be determined.

Committee Chair: Christina Whetsel, Augusta University

Staff Liaisons: Jeremy Christoffels, Academic and Membership Affairs

Jordan Lysiak, Academic and Membership Affairs Katelyn Skarr, Academic and Membership Affairs

## NCAA Division II Membership Committee April 1, 2025, Videoconference

#### **Attendees:**

Michael Bazemore, Montana State University Billings.

Molly Belden, Northeast-10 Conference.

Melanie Brunsdon, Winona State University.

Troy Dell, Frostburg State University.

Kris Dunbar, Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Robert Mallory, Missouri Southern State University.

Jessica McIntyre, Lee University.

Cindy McKnight, Ursuline College.

Thomas Newsom, Southeastern Oklahoma State University.

James Reid, Angelo State University.

Christie Ward, Catawba College.

Christina Whetsel, Augusta University.

Report of the NCAA Division II Membership Committee April 1, 2025, Videoconference

Page No. 4

#### Absentees:

Roberta Page, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania (Management Council chair).

## **Guests in Attendance:**

Jill Willson, Double L Consulting.

# NCAA Liaisons in Attendance:

Jeremy Christoffels, Jordan Lysiak and Katelyn Skarr.

### Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Terri Steeb Gronau, Molly Hansen, Maritza Jones and Angela Red.