

# REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION II CHAMPIONSHIPS COMMITTEE OCTOBER 4, 2018, TELECONFERENCE

### ACTION ITEMS.

- 1. Legislative items.
  - None.
- 2. Nonlegislative items.
  - **Committee appointments.** Ratify the following sport committee appointments, effective immediately.
    - a. **Women's basketball.** Appoint **Karen Haag**, head women's basketball coach/senior woman administrator, The College of Saint Rose, to replace Sandra Michael, assistant vice president for athletics, Holy Family University, who has retired.
    - b. **Men's golf.** Appoint **Jared Purvis**, head golf coach, Valdosta State University, to replace Christian Stryker, assistant commissioner, South Atlantic Conference, who has resigned from the committee.
    - c. Men's and women's tennis. Appoint Abby Davis, head women's tennis coach/senior woman administrator, Arkansas Tech University, to replace Jake Saulsbury, head men's and women's tennis coach, University of Nebraska at Kearney, due to term expiration; appoint Scott Linn, head men's and women's tennis coach, Midwestern State University, to replace Kristen Ford, associate commissioner, Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, who has resigned from the committee due to the RMAC no longer sponsoring tennis; appoint Greg Coache, head men's and women's tennis coach, Southern New Hampshire University, to replace Lynn Tubman, athletics director, Chestnut Hill University, who has taken a position in Division III; appoint William Powers, assistant director of athletics/strategic communications, Hawaii Pacific University, to replace Bob Hogue, commissioner, Pacific West Conference, who has resigned from the committee.
    - d. **Men's and women's track and field.** Appoint **Jamie Moreno**, head cross country/track and field coach, Drury University, to replace Andrew Towne, head men's and women's track coach, Hillsdale College, who has resigned.
    - e. **Wrestling.** Appoint **Chas Thompson**, head wrestling coach, Fort Hays State University, to fill an open position due to committee expansion.

#### INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

**1. Welcome and review of agenda.** Championships Committee Chair, Sue Willey, welcomed the group and reviewed the agenda.

\_\_\_\_

- **2. Approval of previous reports.** The committee approved the report from its September 11 inperson meeting, as submitted.
- **3. Nominating Committee report.** The committee reviewed the report from the Nominating Committee's September 19 teleconference and approved the recommended appointments (see Nonlegislative Item).
- **4. Football site selection.** The committee approved the Division II Football Committee's site recommendation for the 2018 championship. The committee selected McKinney ISD Stadium in McKinney, Texas, to be hosted by the Lone Star Conference. The stadium is a \$70 million stadium that opened this fall and is located 30 miles northwest of Dallas. The amenities offered by the venue will provide a top-notch experience for the student-athletes and coaches. The estimated budget expenditures are \$74,711.

#### 5. Other business.

- **February 2019 Championships Committee meeting dates.** The committee approved moving its February 2019 meeting from February 12-13 to February 20-21 to allow for additional sport committee reports to be considered.
- 6. Future meeting dates through 2019.
  - **a.** February 20-21, 2019.
  - **b.** June 26-27, 2019.
  - **c.** September 10-11, 2019.
- **7. Adjournment**. The committee adjourned the teleconference at 2:20 p.m. Eastern time.

Committee Chair: Sue Willey, University of Indianapolis

Staff Liaison(s): Roberta Page, Championships and Alliances

Molly Simons, Championships and Alliances

Amanda Conklin, Academic and Membership Affairs

# Division II Championships Committee October 4, 2018, Teleconference

### **Attendees:**

Michael Anderson, Gulf South Conference.

Greg Bamberger, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania.

Pat Britz, South Atlantic Conference.

Steve Card, Western Washington University.

Mike Cerino, Limestone College.

Donnie Wagner, Championships and Alliances.

C

Chris Graham, Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (Management Council Vice Chair).
Terri Holmes, Northern State University.
Lisa Liotta, University of Findlay.
Kristin Mort, Colorado Mesa University.
Tom Shirley, Thomas Jefferson University.
Kim Vinson, Cameron University.
Sue Willey, University of Indianapolis.
Absentees:
Deiontae Nicholas, Wayne State University (Michigan).
Pennie Parker, Rollins College (Management Council Chair).
Guests in Attendance:
Gary Brown, NCAA Contractor.
NCAA Staff Support in Attendance:
Roberta Page, Championships and Alliances.
Molly Simons, Championships and Alliances.
Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:
Madison Arndt, Division II Governance.
Zach Christopher, Championships and Alliances.
Terri Gronau, Division II Governance.
Leslie Havens, Championships and Alliances.
Ryan Jones, Division II Governance.
Sharon Tufano, Governance.