

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION II CHAMPIONSHIPS COMMITTEE MARCH 22, 2021, ELECTRONIC VOTE

ACTION ITEMS.

- 1. Legislative items.
 - None.
- 2. Nonlegislative items.
 - Regional site reduction for men's and women's tennis.
 - a. <u>Recommendation</u>. For the 2021 NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Championships, move from 16 predetermined regional sites per gender to eight predetermined regional sites per gender, with one winner from each site advancing to the finals.
 - b. Effective date. Immediate, and only for the 2021 championships.
 - c. <u>Rationale</u>. With the brackets for the 2021 NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Championships being reduced from 48 teams to 36, and in accordance with the desire to reduce and/or consolidate preliminary-round sites in NCAA championships this year to accommodate health and safety protocols, moving to eight predetermined regional sites per gender best serves these purposes while maintaining the integrity of the competition.
 - d. Estimated budget impact. None.
 - e. <u>Student-athlete impact</u>. With only one team advancing to the final site (instead of two), fewer student-athletes will advance to the final site. However, given the necessary COVID protocols for this year, the recommendation still provides a quality student-athlete experience at the championships.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

• Protocol for listing teams "under consideration" in men's and women's tennis. The Championships Committee received an update that the Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee plans to list schools "under consideration" in alphabetical order for the first two scheduled ranking calls rather than in rank order due to the limited data available to help manage COVID-19-related scheduling challenges.

Division II Championships Committee March 22, 2021, Electronic Vote Page No. 2

Committee Chair: Steve Card, Western Washington University; Great Northwest Athletic

Conference.

Staff Liaison(s): Roberta Page, Championships and Alliances.

Morgan DeSpain, Championships and Alliances. Karen Wolf, Academic and Membership Affairs.

Division II Championships Committee March 22, 2021, Electronic Vote

Attendees:

Reid Amos, Mountain East Conference.

Kristy Bayer, Emporia State University.

Steve Card, Western Washington University.

Dick Christy, University of North Carolina at Pembroke.

Marcus Clarke, Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association.

Courtney Lovely Evans, Palm Beach Atlantic University (Management Council vice chair).

Nathan Gibson, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs.

Terri Holmes, Northern State University.

Jim Johnson, Pittsburg State University (Management Council chair).

Matt Kilcullen, Mercy College.

Grace Martin, West Virginia State University (Division II SAAC representative).

Carrie Michaels, Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania.

Carol Rivera, California Collegiate Athletic Association.

Suzanne Sanregret, Michigan Technological University.

Absentees:

None.

Guests in Attendance:

Gary Brown, NCAA Contractor.

NCAA Staff Support in Attendance:

Morgan DeSpain, Championships and Alliances.

Terri Gronau, Governance.

Maritza Jones, Governance.

Ryan Jones, Governance.

Roberta Page, Championships and Alliances.

Karen Wolf, Academic and Membership Affairs.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Leslie Havens.