

# REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION II CHAMPIONSHIPS COMMITTEE AUGUST 1, 2019, TELECONFERENCE

### ACTION ITEMS.

- 1. Legislative items.
  - None.
- 2. Nonlegislative items.
  - **Sport and rules committee appointments**. Ratify the following sport and playing rules committee appointments, effective September 1, 2019, unless specified otherwise.
    - a. Men's basketball rules (immediate appointment). Appoint Terry Donovan, director of athletics, California State University, Stanislaus, to replace Nelson Haggerty, head men's basketball coach, Midwestern State University, who has left the institution.
    - **b.** Men's and women's swimming and diving. Appoint Bethany Hobbs-Helmus, assistant director of athletics/senior woman administrator, California State University, East Bay, to replace Nancye Rahn, assistant director of athletics, King University, due to term expiration.
    - c. Men's and women's track and field (immediate appointment). Appoint Doug Lipinski, deputy director of athletics, Grand Valley State University, to replace Jamie Moreno, head men's and women's track and field coach, Drury University, who has left the institution.

#### **INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.**

- 1. Opening remarks and review of schedule and agenda. Division II Championships Committee Chair Sue Willey welcomed members to the call and reviewed the agenda.
- **2. Recent committee reports.** The committee approved its June 26 in-person meeting report, as submitted.
- 3. Reimbursement of closed captioning costs. The committee reviewed recently adopted video streaming requirements that prospective regional hosts must meet, particularly the language in the document regarding the NCAA's reimbursement of closed captioning costs for California schools that host a preliminary round during the 2018-19 academic year if they are required to provide closed captioning during the regular season. (California schools were uniquely affected at the time the streaming requirements were approved because of a state-wide mandate for public institutions to provide closed captioning.) Staff noted that no schools requested

reimbursement during 2018-19, and that the Division II conference with California public institutions is in the process of negotiating with a streaming provider to include closed captioning as part of its future streaming agreement. However, given the possibility that these schools might incur costs over and above whatever flat rate is negotiated – as well as the possibility that schools in other states might be affected similarly by mandates beyond their control – the Championships Committee agreed to retain the reimbursement clause in the document for 2019-20, but revise it slightly to indicate that only *additional* costs would be reimbursed and that the condition would apply to all Division II institutions.

4. Division II Football Committee report. The committee noted two informational items from the Division II Football Committee's most recent meeting (via email), one appointing University of West Georgia Athletics Director Darryl Dickey as chair for 2019-20 and another appointing Mike Burton, formerly the coordinator of football officials for the Great Northwest Athletic Conference, to serve a three-year term as director of officiating for Division II football.

#### 5. Other business.

- **Division II University championship modules.** Staff asked committee members to review the three new championship modules for Division II University that are now available (the courses cover regionalization, the selection process for team championships, and the selection process for individual championships) and provide feedback.
- **6. Adjournment.** Ms. Willey adjourned the call at 2:30 p.m. Eastern time.

Committee Chair: Sue Willey, University of Indianapolis

Staff Liaisons: Roberta Page, Championships and Alliances

Molly Simons, Championships and Alliances

Amanda Conklin, Academic and Membership Affairs

# Division II Championships Committee August 1, 2019, Teleconference

#### **Attendees:**

Michael Anderson, Gulf South Conference.

Greg Bamberger, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania.

Steve Card, Western Washington University.

Mike Cerino, Limestone College.

Grant Foley, Delta State University (Division II SAAC Representative).

Chris Graham, Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (Management Council Vice Chair).

Report of the NCAA Division II Championships Committee Teleconference Report August 1, 2019 Page No. 3

Terri Holmes, Northern State University.

Laura Liesman, Georgian Court University (Management Council Chair).

Kristin Mort, Colorado Mesa University.

Suzanne Sanregret, Michigan Technological University.

Tom Shirley, Thomas Jefferson University.

Sue Willey, University of Indianapolis.

#### **Absentees:**

Pat Britz, South Atlantic Conference.

Courtney Lovely, Palm Beach Atlantic University.

## **Guests in Attendance:**

Gary Brown, NCAA Contractor.

## NCAA Staff Support in Attendance:

Amanda Conklin, Academic and Membership Affairs.

Roberta Page, Championships and Alliances.

## **Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:**

Ashley Beaton, Nikki Buchannan, Terri Steeb Gronau, Leslie Havens, Maritza Jones, Ryan Jones and Donnie Wagner.