

## REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION I MEN'S AND WOMEN'S BASKETBALL OVERSIGHT COMMITTEES JANUARY 14, 2025, JOINT MEETING

#### **ACTION ITEMS.**

None.

#### INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. Update on NCAA Division I Proposal No. 2024-60 Playing and Practice Seasons Basketball Summer League Certification Policies and Procedures. The Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees received an update on Proposal No. 2024-60 and discussed next steps on the summer league certification policies and procedures.
- 2. Update from the November 11, 2024, joint meeting of the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Basketball Committees. The Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees received an update from the latest joint meeting of the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Basketball Committees, which occurred on November 11, 2024. Specifically, the Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees were updated on key initiatives/topics of the basketball committees. The Men's and Women's Basketball Committees will continue to discuss this topic and will share feedback during their next joint committee meeting on February 11. In addition, it was noted that the Division I women's basketball reveal of the top 16 rankings will occur on February 16 and February 27, via ESPN partnership. Similar information will be shared publicly for men's basketball on February 15. Both Men's and Women's Basketball Committees will reveal their brackets on Selection Sunday, March 16, on ESPN and CBS respectively.
- 3. Multiple-team event legislation discussion. The Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees were updated on each respective Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees' work and discussion on the comprehensive review of the multiple-team event (MTE) legislation, including the possible extension of the current blanket waiver that is in place for the 2024-25 basketball season. Specifically, during its October 8 joint meeting the Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees approved a plan and timeline to conduct the comprehensive review as well as approved a blanket waiver of the MTE legislation. The Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees will continue discussions at their upcoming meetings with the goal of sponsoring a proposal into the June pilot legislative process.
- 4. Update from the NCAA Office of Legal Affairs. The Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees received an update from the NCAA Office of Legal Affairs regarding governance and ongoing legal issues. They were also provided with

Report of the NCAA DI Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees January 14, 2025, Joint Meeting Page No. 2

\_\_\_\_\_

opportunities to engage in discussion and ask questions specific to men's and women's basketball.

- 5. Remarks from President Charlie Baker. The Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees received an informational update from President Baker on the current state of intercollegiate athletics.
- 6. NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees' October 8 videoconference report. The Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees reviewed and approved the October 8 videoconference joint meeting report.
- 7. Other business. The Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees received an update on the activities in celebration of World Basketball Day, which occurred on December 21, 2024.
- 8. Future meeting schedule.

• Videoconference: 2 to 4 p.m. ET, April 24.

MBOC Committee Chair: Dan Butterly, Big West Conference Staff Liaisons: Dan Gavitt, Basketball Championships

Charnele Kemper, Academic and Membership Affairs

WBOC Committee Chair: Kelly Barsky, University of California, Santa Barbara

Staff Liaisons: Meredith Cleaver, Women's Basketball

Lynn Holzman, Women's Basketball

Binh T. Nguyen, Academic and Membership Affairs

# NCAA Division I Joint Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees January 14, 2025, Joint Meeting

## **Attendees:**

Val Ackerman, Big East Conference.

Ketra Armstrong, University of Michigan (non-voting member).

Kelly Barsky, University of California, Santa Barbara.

Jackie Blackett, Columbia University – Barnard College.

Amanda Braun, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee (non-voting member).

Don Bruce, University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Dan Butterly, Big West Conference.

Report of the NCAA DI Men's and Women's Basketball Oversight Committees October 8, 2024, Joint Meeting Page No. 3

\_\_\_\_

Julie Cromer, Ohio University.

Kery Davis, Howard University.

Terry Gawlik, University of Idaho.

Keith Gill, Sun Belt Conference (non-voting member).

Garth Glissman, Southeastern Conference.

Jeff Jackson, Missouri Valley Conference.

Alicia Jessop, Pepperdine University (non-voting member).

Brent Jones, Troy University.

Lindy La Rocque, University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Julie Roe Lach, Horizon League.

Brandon Martin, University of Missouri – Kansas City.

Ed McLaughlin, Virginia Commonwealth University.

Craig Robinson, National Association of Basketball Coaches (non-voting member)

Heath Schroyer, McNeese State University.

Jill Shields, Kansas State University.

Drew Speraw, Western Athletic Conference.

Brad Walker, America East Conference.

John Williams, Big 12 Conference.

Brooke Wyckoff, Florida State University.

### **Absentees:**

Patricia Anumgba, Towson University (non-voting member).

D'Ante Bass, Alabama State University.

Ed Cooley, Georgetown University.

Danielle Donehew, Women's Basketball Coaches Association (non-voting member).

Steve Forbes, Wake Forest University.

Patrick McCaffery, Butler University (non-voting member).

Kennedy Todd-Williams, University of Mississippi.

#### **Guests in Attendance:**

Mary Ellen Gillespie, Women's Basketball Coaches Association.

### NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:

Meredith Cleaver, Dan Gavitt, Lynn Holzman, Charnele Kemper and Binh Nguyen.

### Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Lynne Andrew, Scott Bearby, Jejuan Bowser, Keisha Burnette, Connor Bush, Judy Delp, Jenn Fraser, Khadian Kelly, Kelsi Mahoney, Abbie Markey, Jobrina Marques, Courtney Moore, Rick Nixon, Amy Reis, Jennifer Samble, JoAn Scott, Rachel Seewald and Jared Tidemann.