# REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION I STUDENT-ATHLETE ADVISORY COMMITTEE OCTOBER 22, 2020, VIDEOCONFERENCE

### KEY ITEMS.

• **Civic Engagement Educational Initiatives.** The NCAA Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee continued to discuss ways to continue leading a voting awareness initiative. The key areas for these initiatives are awareness, education and action.

## **INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.**

- 1. Approval of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee July 17 and August 18, 2020, Meeting Reports. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee reviewed and approved the reports from its July 17 and August 18 meetings.
- 2. NCAA Division I Name, Image and Likeness Legislative Solutions Group. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee received an update on the work of the Name, Image and Likeness Legislative Solutions Group. It was noted that the NCAA Division I Council introduced the Name, Image and Likeness Legislative Solutions Group's recommended concepts into the 2020-21 legislative cycle.
- 3. NCAA Division I Working Group on Transfers. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee received an update on the work of the Working Group on Transfers. It was noted that Council introduced the Working Group on Transfers' recommended uniform four-year transfer eligibility proposal into the 2020-21 legislative cycle. The uniform transfer eligibility exception would provide four-year college transfer student-athletes in all sports with the opportunity to be immediately eligible to compete at their new Division I institution, beginning first during the 2021-22 academic year.
- 4. Season of Competition Waivers and Extensions of Eligibility for Winter and Spring Sport Student-Athletes. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee received an update on seasons of competition waivers and extension of eligibility for winter sports. It was noted that Council approved a blanket waiver for winter sports student-athletes. The Studentdiscussed the current Athlete Advisory Committee status of spring and whether permitting season of competition waivers and extensions of eligibility is appropriate for spring sport student-athletes during the 2020-21 academic year. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee determined that the timing of this decision was premature. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee will review this topic closer to the start of spring seasons, to determine the best course of action based on the current impact of COVID-19. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee ultimately agreed that there have not been any significant changes to the spring championship structure or playing season that warrant additional relief at this time.

\_\_\_\_

- 5. NCAA Diversity and Inclusion Week. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee received an update on the Diversity and Inclusion Week social media campaign and ways on how the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee can be involved in the initiative.
- **6. Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Legislation Feedback Process Updates.** The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee reviewed updates to the legislation feedback process.
- 7. Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Conference Updates. Each conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee representative reported on any conference initiatives or updates. These reports demonstrated that many conferences are focusing on social justice, student-athlete mental health and well-being and COVID-19 related initiatives.
- 8. Council, Council Standing Committees and Association-Wide Committee Updates. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee received updates on recent activities and decisions made by Council, Council's seven standing committees and Association-wide committees.
- 9. Future Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Meetings and Teleconferences.
  - a. 2 to 3:30 p.m. Eastern time, Tuesday, December 15; Videoconference.
  - b. NCAA Convention 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern time, Tuesday, January 12, 2021; Videoconference.
     NCAA Convention 1:30 to 3 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, January 15; Videoconference.

Committee Chair: Ethan Good, Bowling Green State University; Mid-American

Conference.

Committee Vice Chairs: Caroline Lee, Southeastern Louisiana University; Southland

Conference.

Justice Littrell, University of Northern Colorado; Big Sky

Conference.

Staff Liaisons: Sarah Hebberd, NCAA Academic and Membership Affairs.

Marissa Robinson, NCAA Leadership Development.

Quintin Wright, NCAA Academic and Membership Affairs.

Jeremy Villanueva, NCAA Communications

# NCAA Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee October 22, 2020, Videoconference

### **Attendees:**

Ahmed Amaar, Lipscomb University; ASUN Conference.

Vedika Anand, Wagner College; Northeast Conference.

Brynn Carlson, Kansas State University; Big 12 Conference.

Ryan Cassidy, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick; Big Ten Conference.

Bryce Choate, Oral Roberts University; The Summit League.

Kaylah Clark, Howard; Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference.

Alicia Cooperman, James Madison University; Colonial Athletic Association.

Turner Dirrigl, Canisius College; Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference.

Alec Dominguez, Florida International University; Conference USA.

Dominic Franklin, Texas Southern University; Southwestern Athletic Conference.

Alexis Garrett, Troy University; Sun Belt Conference.

Ami Gianchandani, Yale University; The Ivy League.

Jake Gibbons, Texas A&M University, College Station; Southeastern Conference.

Ethan Good, Bowling Green State University; Mid-American Conference.

Oceana Haaland, University of California, Davis; Big West Conference.

Maddie Hommey, Longwood University; Big South Conference.

Erik Janss, La Salle University; Atlantic 10 Conference.

Megan Klavitter, Chicago State University; Western Athletic Conference.

Leon Krapf, North Carolina State University; Atlantic Coast Conference.

Ava Lawson, Northern Kentucky University; Horizon League.

Caroline Lee, Southeastern Louisiana University; Southland Conference.

Hannah Lee, University of Wyoming; Mountain West Conference.

Nicole Leishman, University of the Pacific; West Coast Conference.

Justice Littrell, University of Northern Colorado; Big Sky Conference.

A	44.		A	ees	
$\boldsymbol{H}$	шк	ΉH		H-2	1

Halie Mariano, Bucknell University; Patriot League.

Mackenzie McFeron, University of Evansville; Missouri Valley Conference.

Kailyn Myshrall, University of Vermont; America East Conference.

Christopher Paul, The University of Tulsa; American Athletic Conference.

Jordan Schmid, Marquette University; Big East Conference.

Amani Taylor, Tennessee State University; Ohio Valley Conference.

Natalie Robinson, University of Washington; Pac-12 Conference.

Malcolm Wilson, Georgetown University; Big East Conference.

Liz Wood, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; Southern Conference.

## **NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:**

Sarah Hebberd, Marissa Robinson, Jeremy Villanueva and Quintin Wright.

## Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Jenn Fraser, Marnae Mawdsley, Corbin McGuire and Bri Rigney.