REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION I STUDENT-ATHLETE ADVISORY COMMITTEE February 10, 2021, VIDEOCONFERENCE

KEY ITEMS.

• None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. Approval of the NCAA Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee January 12 and 15, 2021, meeting report. The Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee reviewed and approved the report from its January 12 and 15 meeting.
- 2. NCAA guest speaker. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee welcomed guest speaker, Derrick Coles, assistant director of NCAA enforcement. Educational information was discussed with the committee regarding agents and agent certifications.
- 3. Review of Division I Committee on Infractions recommendation. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee discussed the potential recommendation to adjust the composition of the Division I Committee on Infractions to include a student-athlete representative from Division I SAAC. The committee discussed the overall details of the recommendation and will seek feedback from the appropriate standing committees and key stakeholders.
- 4. Discuss temporary dead period/recruiting calendars. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee reviewed a request from the NCAA Division I Council Coordination Committee regarding the current temporary recruiting dead period. The committee indicated its preference to extend the current temporary COVID-19 recruiting dead period beyond April 15 and was supportive of the NCAA Division I Council acting on the extension of the dead period during the February 17, 2021, meeting. The committee noted the importance of providing prospective student-athletes with immediate guidance on the future of recruiting. The committee was not supportive of transitioning to a quiet period on April 16, noting the importance of maintaining the health and safety of current studentathletes that are in season. The committee emphasized the need to provide clarity on this issue but also noted the need to be mobile enough to pivot if more information regarding how COVID-19 is impacting the environment becomes available (e.g., positive case rates, vaccination rates, additional or expiring federal and local mandates). Finally, the committee would support a transition to a quiet period after the championship season ends for spring sports.
- **5. Student-Athlete Advisory Committee video contest.** The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee reviewed the details for the upcoming video contest.
- 6. Future Student-Athlete Advisory Committee meetings and videoconferences.
 - a. Noon to 1:30 p.m. Eastern time, Wednesday, March 3; Videoconference.

b. 1:30 to 3 p.m. Eastern time, Thursday, April 8; Videoconference.

c. 4:30 to 6 p.m. Eastern time, Tuesday, May 18; Videoconference.

Committee Chair: Ethan Good, Bowling Green State University; Mid-American

Conference.

Committee Vice Chairs: Caroline Lee, Southeastern Louisiana University; Southland

Conference.

Justice Littrell, University of Northern Colorado; Big Sky

Conference.

Staff Liaisons: Sarah Hebberd, NCAA Academic and Membership Affairs

Russell Register, NCAA Enforcement

Quintin Wright, NCAA Academic and Membership Affairs

Jeremy Villanueva, NCAA Communications

NCAA Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee February 10, 2021, Videoconference

Attendees:

Brynn Carlson, Kansas State University; Big 12 Conference.

Ryan Cassidy, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick; Big Ten Conference.

Bryce Choate, Oral Roberts University; The Summit League.

Kaylah Clark, Howard; Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference.

Turner Dirrigl, Canisius College; Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference.

Alec Dominguez, Florida International University; Conference USA.

Alexis Garrett, Troy University; Sun Belt Conference.

Ami Gianchandani, Yale University; The Ivy League.

Jake Gibbons, Texas A&M University, College Station; Southeastern Conference.

Ethan Good, Bowling Green State University; Mid-American Conference.

Oceana Haaland, University of California, Davis; Big West Conference.

Maddie Hommey, Longwood University; Big South Conference.

Erik Janss, La Salle University; Atlantic 10 Conference.

Megan Klavitter, Chicago State University; Western Athletic Conference.

Ava Lawson, Northern Kentucky University; Horizon League.

Caroline Lee, Southeastern Louisiana University; Southland Conference.

Hannah Lee, University of Wyoming; Mountain West Conference.

Nicole Leishman, University of the Pacific; West Coast Conference.

Justice Littrell, University of Northern Colorado; Big Sky Conference.

Halie Mariano, Bucknell University; Patriot League.

Mackenzie McFeron, University of Evansville; Missouri Valley Conference.

Kailyn Myshrall, University of Vermont; America East Conference.

Christopher Paul, The University of Tulsa; American Athletic Conference.

Natalie Robinson, University of Washington; Pac-12 Conference.

Amani Taylor, Tennessee State University; Ohio Valley Conference.

Malcolm Wilson, Georgetown University; Big East Conference.

Liz Wood, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; Southern Conference.

Absentees:

Ahmed Amaar, Lipscomb University; ASUN Conference.

Vedika Anand, Wagner College; Northeast Conference.

Alicia Cooperman, James Madison University; Colonial Athletic Association.

Dominic Franklin, Texas Southern University; Southwestern Athletic Conference.

Leon Krapf, North Carolina State University; Atlantic Coast Conference.

Other Guests in Attendance:

Justin Sell, NCAA Division I Council liaison.

NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:

Sarah Hebberd, Russell Register, Jeremy Villanueva and Quintin Wright.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Derrick Coles, Judy Delp, Jenn Fraser, Corbin McGuire and Zack Teats.