

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION I PRESIDENTIAL FORUM SEPTEMBER 18, 2020, VIDEOCONFERENCE

ACTION ITEMS.

None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. Fall Sports Championships Brackets and Access. The NCAA Division I Presidential Forum supported key elements of the NCAA Division I Council's recommendations related to fall sports championships being conducted in the spring term. Specifically, the Forum supported reducing fall championship brackets in sports other than football to 75% while protecting automatic qualification for all eligible conferences. Additionally, the Forum supported reducing the NCAA Division I Football Championship from 24 to 16 teams while preserving access for all conferences eligible for automatic qualification. This feedback will be used to inform the NCAA Division I Board of Directors' decisions on these recommendations during its September 22 meeting.
- 2. Basketball Playing and Practice Season Update. The Presidential Forum received an update on the temporary emergency legislation related to the start of basketball playing and practice seasons that was adopted by the Council at its September 16 meeting. This legislation permits an institution to begin a transition from out-of-season activities to oncourt preseason practice on September 21, begin on-court preseason practice on October 14 and changes the first permissible contest date to November 25. This update emphasized that the Council's actions regarding basketball are contingent on recommendations from the NCAA COVID-19 Medical Advisory Group and are subject to further review by the Board of Directors and the NCAA Board of Governors.
- 3. Review of Sustainability Issues. The Presidential Forum received an update and provided preliminary feedback on a draft framework for the Forum's review of sustainability which will be the focus of the Forum's October 27 meeting. During its October meeting, the Forum will receive a briefing document that frames the relevant sustainability issues based on the Forum's feedback and feedback provided by the NCAA Division I Presidential Forum Steering Committee during its July and September videoconferences. The review of sustainability is expected to focus on the areas of financial sustainability, organizational and governance issues and philosophical principles.
- **4. Role and Purpose of the Presidential Forum.** The Presidential Forum received an overview of its role and purpose. Generally, the Forum serves to assist the Division I Board of Directors in accomplishing its strategic mission in the Division I governance structure and ensure the NCAA core value involving presidential leadership of intercollegiate athletics at the campus, conference and national level is achieved.

C

- **5. NCAA Staffing and Services Update.** The Presidential Forum received an update on staffing-related actions that the national office plans to take to mitigate the budgetary impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and how those actions will impact Division I.
- **6. Update from NCAA President Mark Emmert**. The Presidential Forum received an update from President Emmert regarding several important issues facing the Association and Division I.
- **7. Report of the August 17 Presidential Forum Videoconference.** The Forum approved the report of its August 17, 2020, videoconference. (*Unanimous voice vote.*)

Presidential Forum chair: Brian Hemphill, Radford University; Big South Conference

Staff Liaisons: Amanda Conklin, Law, Policy and Governance

Jenn Fraser, Law, Policy and Governance Kevin Lennon, Law, Policy and Governance Leeland Zeller, Law, Policy and Governance

Division I Presidential Forum September 18, 2020, Videoconference

Attendees:

Laurence Alexander, University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff; Southwestern Athletic Conference.

Victor Boschini, Texas Christian University; Big 12 Conference.

Brian Casey, Colgate University; Patriot League.

Ana Maria Cauce, University of Washington; Pac-12 Conference.

Jane Conoley, Long Beach State University; Big West Conference.

James Donahue, Saint Mary's College of California; West Coast Conference.

Barry Dunn, South Dakota State University; The Summit League.

Sheri Everts, Appalachian State University; Sun Belt Conference.

Patrick Gallagher, University of Pittsburgh; Atlantic Coast Conference.

Conrado Gempesaw, St. John's University; Big East Conference.

Jerome Gilbert, Marshall University; Conference USA.

Ronnie Green, University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Big Ten Conference.

Brian Hemphill, Radford University; Big South Conference.

Wendy Libby, Stetson University; ASUN Conference.

Robert Nelsen, California State University; Big Sky Conference.

Brian Noland, East Tennessee State University; Southern Conference.

Judy Olian, Quinnipiac University; Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference.

Chris Pietruszkiewicz, University of Evansville; Missouri Valley Conference.

_

Donde Plowman, University of Tennessee, Knoxville; Southeastern Conference.

Havidan Rodriguez, University of Albany, America East Conference.

David Rudd, University of Memphis; American Athletic Conference.

Kim Schatzel, Towson University; Colonial Athletic Association.

Phil Schubert, Abilene Christian University; Southland Conference.

Jay Silveria, U.S. Airforce Academy, Mountain West Conference (alternate)

Eric Spina, University of Dayton; Atlantic 10 Conference.

Malachi Van Tassell, Saint Francis University (Pennsylvania); Northeast Conference.

Carlos Vargas, Southeast Missouri State University; Ohio Valley Conference.

Absentees:

Adela de la Torre, San Diego State University; Mountain West Conference.

Wayne Frederick, Howard University; Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference.

Geoff Mearns, Ball State University; Mid-American Conference.

Brian Mueller, Grand Canyon University; Western Athletic Conference.

Martha Pollack, Cornell University; The Ivy League.

Ashish Vaidya, Northern Kentucky University; Horizon League.

NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:

Amanda Conklin, Jenn Fraser, Kevin Lennon and Leeland Zeller.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Scott Bearby, Sharon Cessna, Shauna Cobb, Mark Emmert, Dan Gavitt, Brian Hainline, Michelle Hosick, Marnae Mawdsley, Jeff O'Barr, Donald Remy, Bridget Rigney, Dave Schnase and Cari Van Senus.