

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION I PRESIDENTIAL FORUM JANUARY 12, 2021, VIDEOCONFERENCE

ACTION ITEMS.

• None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. Engagement with the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics. The NCAA Division I Presidential Forum was joined by representatives from the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and received an overview of the commission's recent recommendations for changes to the NCAA Division I model.
- 2. Sustainability Review Process and Timeline. The Presidential Forum received an update on the timeline and process for the sustainability review and the preliminary priorities emerging from each of the four sustainability subgroups. Specifically, the Forum reviewed its goals for each phase of the sustainability review. Additionally, the Forum reviewed the role of conferences, the NCAA Division I Council and the NCAA Division I Presidential Forum Steering Committee in the review process.
- **3. Sustainability Subgroup Meetings.** In an effort to narrow and more clearly define the scope of the sustainability review, the Presidential Forum sustainability subgroups met to discuss possible revisions to their emerging priorities. Each of the subgroup's priorities will be discussed at the Steering Committee meeting on January 27.
- **4. Division I Council Update.** The Forum received an update on the discussions and actions taken by the Council during its January 11 meeting.
- 5. Update from NCAA President Mark Emmert. The Forum received an update from President Emmert regarding several important issues facing the Association and Division I.
- 6. Legal Update. The Forum received a privileged and confidential update from Scott Bearby, vice president of legal affairs and general counsel, related to ongoing legal matters.
- 7. **Report of the October 27 Presidential Forum Meeting.** The Forum approved the report of its October 27 meeting. (*Unanimous voice vote.*)

Presidential Forum chair:	Brian Hemphill, Radford University, Big South Conference
Staff Liaisons:	Amanda Conklin, Law, Policy and Governance
	Jenn Fraser, Law, Policy and Governance
	Kevin Lennon, Law, Policy and Governance
	Leeland Zeller, Law, Policy and Governance

Report of the Division I Presidential Forum January 12, 2021, Videoconference Page No. 2

Division I Presidential Forum	
January 12, 2021, Videoconference	
Attendees:	
Laurence Alexander, University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff; Southwestern Athletic Conference.	
Victor Boschini, Texas Christian University; Big 12 Conference.	
Brian Casey, Colgate University; Patriot League.	
Ana Mari Cauce, University of Washington; Pac-12 Conference.	
Jane Conoley, Long Beach State University; Big West Conference.	
Adela de la Torre, San Diego State University; Mountain West Conference.	
James Donahue, Saint Mary's College of California; West Coast Conference.	
Barry Dunn, South Dakota State University; The Summit League.	
Wayne Frederick, Howard University; Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference.	
Patrick Gallagher, University of Pittsburgh; Atlantic Coast Conference.	
Conrado Gempesaw, St. John's University; Big East Conference.	
Ronnie Green, University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Big Ten Conference.	
Brian Hemphill, Radford University; Big South Conference.	
Wendy Libby, Stetson University; ASUN Conference.	
Geoff Mearns, Ball State University; Mid-American Conference.	
Brian Mueller, Grand Canyon University; Western Athletic Conference.	
Robert Nelsen, California State University; Big Sky Conference.	
Judy Olian, Quinnipiac University; Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference.	
Chris Pietruszkiewicz, University of Evansville; Missouri Valley Conference.	
Donde Plowman, University Tennessee, Knoxville; Southeastern Conference.	
Havidan Rodriguez, University of Albany, America East Conference.	
David Rudd, University of Memphis; American Athletic Conference.	
Kim Schatzel, Towson University; Colonial Athletic Association.	
Phil Schubert, Abilene Christian University; Southland Conference.	
Eric Spina, University of Dayton; Atlantic 10 Conference.	
Ashish Vaidya, Northern Kentucky University; Horizon League.	
Malachi Van Tassell, Saint Francis University (Pennsylvania); Northeast Conference.	
Carlos Vargas, Southeast Missouri State University; Ohio Valley Conference.	
Absentees:	
Sheri Everts, Appalachian State University; Sun Belt Conference.	
Jerome Gilbert, Marshall University; Conference USA.	
Brian Noland, East Tennessee State University; Southern Conference.	
Martha Pollack, Cornell University; The Ivy League.	
Guests in Attendance:	
Christine Copper, United States Naval Academy.	
Michael Cross, Penn State University and Co-Founder/CEO, Athlete Viewpoint.	
Arne Duncan, Former U.S. Secretary of Education.	
Len Elmore, Attorney, Television Commentator, Former NBA Player and Former Men's Basketball	
Player, University of Maryland.	
Gabe Feldman, Knight Commission Consultant.	
Walter Harrison, President Emeritus, University of Hartford.	

Report of the Division I Presidential Forum January 12, 2021, Videoconference Page No. 3

Sandy Hatfield Clubb, The PICTOR Group.

Jonathon Mariner, Knight Commission

Jeff Orleans, Knight Commission Consultant.

Amy Perko, Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics.

Jojo Rinebold, The Rinebold Company.

Todd Turner, Collegiate Sports Associates.

Nate Wallace, Knight Foundation.

Nancy Zimpher, State University of New York.

NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:

Amanda Conklin, Jenn Fraser, Kevin Lennon and Leeland Zeller.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Scott Bearby, Gary Brown, Jackie Campbell, Michael Cioroianu, Shauna Cobb, Joni Comstock, Mark Emmert, Derrick Gragg, Michelle Hosick, David Lafiosca, Felicia Martin, Marnae Mawdsley, Kathleen McNeely, Sarah Otey, Greg Pottorff, Donald Remy, Bridget Rigney, Dave Schnase, Naima Stevenson, Cari Van Senus, and Stan Wilcox.