

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION I LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE SEPTEMBER 9, 2020, VIDEOCONFERENCE

<u>ACTION ITEMS</u>.

1. Legislative Item.

- Consideration of remaining 2019-20 NCAA Division I Council-Governance Legislative Proposals.
 - (1) <u>Recommendation</u>. That the NCAA Division I Council move the remaining tabled proposals from the 2019-20 legislative cycle to the 2021-22 legislative cycle.
 - (2) <u>Effective Date</u>. Immediate.
 - (3) Rationale. For the last several months, the Legislative Committee has reviewed the status of the remaining proposals from the 2019-20 legislative cycle and monitored the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on intercollegiate athletics. The Legislative Committee considered several options for addressing the proposals. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the immediate focus of the governance structure should continue to be on essential issues that are of the highest priority or essential to the operation of the Association or Division I. However, the membership should have an opportunity to consider the remaining proposals from the 2019-20 cycle at a later date. In making its recommendation, the Legislative Committee applied the standards of the limited moratorium on the 2020-21 legislative cycle and the priorities identified by the NCAA Division I Board of Directors and Council for the remainder of 2020 in order to determine whether any remaining 2019-20 proposals should be considered in the 2020-21 legislative cycle. The Legislative Committee determined that none of the 2019-20 cycle proposals meet those standards. Therefore, consideration of all the remaining 2019-20 cycle proposals should delayed until the 2021-22 legislative cycle. Sponsoring entities would be given the option to withdraw their proposals from consideration.
 - (4) <u>Estimated Budget Impact</u>. None.
 - (5) <u>Student-Athlete Impact</u>. None.
- 2. Nonlegislative Items.
 - None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. **Review of Potential 2020-21 Actions Related to COVID-19.** The Legislative Committee reviewed potential COVID-19-related actions for consideration and provided feedback on various areas.
- 2. Review of NCAA Division I Interpretations Committee Appeal Decision. The Legislative Committee considered an appeal request of interpretive decisions made by the Interpretations Committee regarding the application of NCAA Division I Bylaws 13.2.1 (general regulation) 13.4.1 (recruiting materials and electronic correspondence general correspondence), 13.4.3.2 (camp or clinic advertisements or promotions), 13.7.1 (first opportunity to visit) and 13.11.1 (prohibited activities). The committee upheld the Interpretation Committee's decisions.
- **3. Approval of Legislative Committee August Reports.** The Legislative Committee approved the reports of its August 3 and August 17 videoconferences.

Committee Chair:	Maggie McKinley, University of Cincinnati, American Athletic Conference
Staff Liaisons:	Anne Rohlman, Academic and Membership Affairs
	Leeland Zeller, Division I Governance

NCAA Division I Legislative Committee September 9, 2020, Videoconference

Attendees:

Lisa Archbald, Northeast Conference.

Carray Banks, Norfolk State University.

Ted White, NCAA Division I Committee on Academics.

Matt Burgemeister, Atlantic Coast Conference.

Jeremiah Carter, University of Minnesota.

Daniel Feig, University of South Carolina Upstate.

Tim Gleason, University of Oregon.

Jennifer Heppel, NCAA Division I Committee on Academics.

Rick Christensen, NCAA Division I Committee on Student-Athlete Reinstatement chair.

Stephen LaPorta, NCAA Division I Committee for Legislative Relief chair.

Maggie McKinley, University of Cincinnati (chair).

Kailyn Myshrall, NCAA Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

Alex Ricker-Gilbert, Jacksonville University (vice chair).

Shalini Shanker, Colorado State University.

Shannon Strahl, Gonzaga University.

Matt Boyer, Division I Interpretations Committee chair.

Larry Williams, University of Akron.

Absentees:

None.

NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:

Anne Rohlman and Leeland Zeller.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Sarah Hebberd, Andy Louthain, Ty Medd and Laura Wurtz.