

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION I FOOTBALL BOWL SUBDIVISION OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE JUNE 16, 2025, VIDEOCONFERENCE

ACTION ITEMS.

- Nonlegislative items.
 - Review request to waive the eligibility for reclassification requirements. The a. committee reviewed the application and waiver submitted by California State University, Sacramento, to enter the FCS to FBS reclassification process for the 2025-26 academic year. The committee recommends the NCAA Division I Council deny the institution's request to waive the required bona fide invitation from an active FBS conference. The committee noted a conference invitation is of paramount importance for entering into the reclassification process because the invitation signals an institution's readiness to enter the process. Although a waiver of the bona fide invitation requirement was granted in 2017, that decision was made in a different era, under a different set of facts and rules. The Division I membership adopted the current legislation to affirm the importance of the nature and purpose of the subdivision reclassification process, choosing to place that decision-making authority with the council. Due to the significance of the bona fide invitation from an FBS conference requirement and the lack of compelling mitigation explaining why that requirement, one that several other FCS institutions have met in recent years, has not been met, the committee does not support relief.
 - b. **Review of FCS to FBS Reclassification year two report.** The committee reviewed the year two FCS to FBS reclassification annual report for Kennesaw State University. The committee recommends the NCAA Division I Board of Directors advance Kennesaw State University to active FBS membership status effective August 1, 2025.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. Review of FCS to FBS Reclassification year one reports. The committee reviewed the FCS to FBS reclassification year one annual reports from University of Delaware and Missouri State University. The committee advanced both institutions to year two of the FCS to FBS reclassification process.
- 2. Provide feedback on request to waive first contest legislation for 2025-26. The committee reviewed a request to waive the first contest legislation and requested staff solicit additional information from the involved institutions.
- 3. NCAA Division I Decision-Making Working Group update. The committee received an update on the work of NCAA Division I Decision-Making Working Group. The NCAA Division I Board of Directors will review the working group's recommendations during its June 23 meeting.
- **4. NCAA legal issues update.** The committee received an update from the NCAA Office of Legal Affairs.

Report of the NCAA DI Football Bowl Subdivision Oversight Committee Videoconference June 16, 2025 Page No. 2

- **5. NCAA Division I governance update.** The committee received an update on recent and upcoming Division I governance meetings.
- 6. Approve NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision Oversight Committee June 5 videoconference report. The committee approved the June 5 FBSOC videoconference report.
- 7. Future meetings.

• TBD.

Committee Chair: Mark Alnutt, University of Buffalo, the State University of New York.

Staff Liaisons: Ty Halpin, NCAA Championships and Alliances.

Kris Richardson, NCAA Academic and Membership Affairs.

NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision Oversight Committee June 16, 2025, Videoconference

Attendees:

Mark Alnutt, University of Buffalo, the State University of New York; Mid-American Conference.

Matt Boyer, Southeastern Conference. (alternate)

Shonna Brown, Pac-12 Conference. (alternate)

Lisa Campos, University of Texas at San Antonio; American Athletic Conference.

Keith Gill, Sun Belt Conference.

Alan Green, University of Southern California.

Erick Harper, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; Mountain West Conference.

Bryan Maggard, University of Louisiana at Lafayette; Sun Belt Conference.

Chris McIntosh, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Big Ten Conference. (alternate)

Dan Radakovich, University of Miami (Florida); Atlantic Coast Conference.

James Senter, University of Texas at El Paso; Conference USA.

Michael Strickland, Atlantic Coast Conference.

Absentees:

Scott Barnes, Oregon State University; Pac-12 Conference.

Bret Bielema, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

Craig Bohl, American Football Coaches Association.

Josh Brooks, University of Georgia; Southeastern Conference.

Richard Clark, College Football Playoff.

Scott Draper, Big 12 Conference. (alternate)

Taurus Simmons, West Virginia University.

NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:

Ty Halpin and Kris Richardson.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Geoff Bentzel, DJ Brown, Amanda Conklin, Haydyn Gibson, Chris Howard, Greg Johnson, Jordan Lysiak, Jackson Marcotte, Greg Pottorff and Lynda Tealer.