

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION I FOOTBALL OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE NOVEMBER 12, 2020, VIDEOCONFERENCE

ACTION ITEMS.

• Virtual Recruiting During the Temporary Recruiting Dead Period. In follow-up to its recommendation to extend the temporary recruiting dead period through April 15, 2021, the NCAA Division I Football Oversight Committee discussed the current state of virtual recruiting and recommends that the NCAA Division I Council remove current restrictions on virtual communications in football to permit all full-time, institutional staff members and current students to engage in virtual recruiting activities involving prospective student-athletes who are able to engage in virtual recruiting activities (e.g., prospective student-athletes an institution is already permitted to call) without restriction for the remainder of the temporary recruiting dead period. The Football Oversight Committee recommends making this change to give institutions additional opportunities for engaging with prospective student-athletes to share as much information as possible to help the prospective student-athletes make an informed decision before the December National Letter of Intent signing period and in preparation for the February NLI signing period.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. Review of Football Oversight Committee's November 5, 2020, Report. The Football Oversight Committee reviewed and approved its November 5, 2020, videoconference report.
- 2. NCAA Division I Football Student-Athlete Connection Group Update. Ryan Cassidy provided an update to the Football Oversight Committee on the Student-Athlete Connection Group's November 11, 2020, videoconference. During its November 11th videoconference, the Student-Athlete Connection Group received an update on the work of the Working Group on Transfers, and discussed virtual recruiting, activities during the day off for civic engagement, and a financial aid legislative concept.
- 3. Discussion of Concept Exempting Financial Aid Due to COVID-19. The Football Oversight Committee discussed a concept related to exempting aid awarded to student-athletes who received an extension of eligibility due to the impact of COVID-19. The Football Oversight Committee, noting the concept's benefits and challenges, is open to further study of the concept. The Football Oversight Committee did not support the Division I Council acting in favor of the concept at its November 18, 2020, meeting.
- 4. Future Meetings and Teleconferences.
 - a. 4 to 5:30 p.m. Eastern time, Thursday, November 19; videoconference.
 - b. 4 to 5:30 p.m. Eastern time, Thursday, December 3; videoconference.

Report of the Division I Football Oversight Committee November 12, 2020, Videoconference

Page No. 2

Committee Chair: Shane Lyons, West Virginia University.

Staff Liaisons: Ty Halpin, NCAA Championships and Alliances.

Kris Richardson, NCAA Academic and Membership Affairs.

NCAA Division I Football Oversight Committee November 12, 2020, Videoconference

Attendees:

Mark Alnutt, University at Buffalo, the State University of New York.

Whit Babcock, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Sandy Barbour, Pennsylvania State University.

Todd Berry, American Football Coaches Association.

Craig Bohl, University of Wyoming, AFCA Board of Trustees

Greg Byrne, University of Alabama.

Ryan Cassidy, Rutgers University, NCAA Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

Adam Cushing, Eastern Illinois University, Head Football Coach.

Troy Dannen, Tulane University

Frank Messina, University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Jean Gee, University of Montana.

Bret Gilliland, Mountain West Conference.

Doug Gillin, Appalachian State University.

Michael Hamrick, Marshall University.

Mark Harlan, University of Utah.

Shane Lyons, West Virginia University.

Kyle Moats, Missouri State University.

Patty Viverito, Missouri Valley Conference.

Jennifer Williams, Alabama State University.

Absentees:

Patrick Fields, University of Oklahoma.

NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:

Ty Halpin and Kris Richardson.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Michael Bazemore, Geoff Bentzel, Amanda Conklin, Chris Howard, Greg Johnson, Jess Kerr, Greg Pottorff and Chad Tolliver.