«» | WRESTLING

Secretary-Rules Editor Article #1
NCAA Wrestling Case Book Updates
Updated September 16, 2024

Rear Double Knee Kickback

Question: On a restart from referee’s position, Wrestler B, the defensive wrestler, stands up and
Wrestler A, the offensive wrestler, quickly follows and ends up in the rear standing position.
Wrestler B leans forward into a quad-pod position (both hands are on the mat although the knees
are not) at which point Wrestler A leaves their feet and uses their lower leg(s) to kick behind
Wrestler B’s knees in an attempt to bring them to the met. Is this legal?

Ruling: No. Rule 5.6.9 states that the rear double knee kickback is illegal from the rear standing
position. In this situation, even though the wrestlers are not in rear standing position (because the
defensive wrestler’s hands are on the mat), the potential for injury to the defensive wrestler
remains high. The spirit and intent of the rule is to protect the defensive wrestler’s knees from
injury and a kickback behind the defensive wrestler’s knee(s) in this position shall be called illegal.

(Rule 5.6.9)
Recovery Time/Concussion Evaluation Timeouts

Question: Wrestler A shoots a double-leg takedown and lifts their opponent off the mat. In the
process of bringing their opponent to the mat, Wrestler A slams Wrestler B, who lands on the side
of their neck. The referee immediately calls a slam, awards one penalty point to Wrestler B and
starts recovery time. Shortly after the athletic trainer begins treating Wrestler B, the athletic trainer
requests that a concussion evaluation be conducted. What is the proper protocol for recovery time
and concussion evaluation?

Ruling: This situation would mirror Rule 6.2.6 (Injury Timeout Converted to Concussion
Evaluation Timeout). This should be handled only as a concussion evaluation timeout and any
recovery time used up to that point shall not count toward the two minutes of recovery time. If
Wrestler B is cleared to continue after the concussion evaluation timeout, the referee may start
recovery time at that point and Wrestler B would be entitled to the full two minutes. If Wrestler B
is unable to continue at the end of recovery time, Wrestler A would be disqualified, and Wrestler
B would be declared the winner.

(Rules 6.2.6, 6.2.5 and 6.3.5)




