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Mat-Side Video Review

Question: From the neutral position, Wrestler A locks up a bear hug and takes Wrestler B to the
mat. Wrestler A keeps their hands locked but the referee does not award a takedown as the
wrestlers are still scrambling while on the mat. Five seconds later, the two wrestlers go out of
bounds and the referee stops the match. The coach of Wrestler A throws a challenge brick, stating
that Wrestler A scored a takedown.

The referees review the sequence and determine that Wrestler A did secure a takedown when the
two wrestlers hit the mat. The referees also note after the takedown was secured, Wrestler A kept
their hands locked although Wrestler B was not in near fall criteria. What corrections need to be
made to this wrestling sequence?

Ruling: Wrestler A should be awarded three points for a takedown. Although the intent of the
wrestling sequence in the video review process is to account for all wrestling action that occurred,
the sequence ends (as outlined in Rule 3.13.4a) when the match “should have been stopped by the
referee.” In this situation, a locked hands violation would warrant stopping a match. Wrestler A,
however, would not be penalized for locked hands since they were not aware they had established
control. The referees should declare dead time at the point that the locked hands call would have
been made, adjust the time clock accordingly and restart the match with Wrestler A on top.
Wrestler A would not accumulate any riding time in this scenario as no advantage can be gained
because of a technical violation or illegal hold.

(Rule 3.13.4a)

Question: From the neutral position, Wrestler A shoots a double-leg and Wrestler B sprawls; both
wrestlers then scramble to the mat. Wrestler A, attempting to secure the takedown, moves off the
legs and locks their hands around the waist of Wrestler B. The referee still does not award a
takedown when ten seconds later, Wrestler B then locks their hands around the waist of Wrestler
A and completes a roll-through, putting Wrestler A onto their back. The referee awards a takedown
to Wrestler B and then counts three near fall points before the wrestlers go out of bounds.



The coach of Wrestler A throws the challenge brick, stating that a takedown should have been
awarded to Wrestler A. The referees
review the sequence and confirm that
Wrestler A did indeed score a takedown
after locking their hands around the
waist of Wrestler B. The second referee
points out that when Wrestler A secured
the takedown, they still had their hands
locked (a technical violation).

What corrections need to be made to
the sequence in question? Does
Wrestler A get penalized for locked
hands? Does dead time apply? What
about the points scored by Wrestler B?

Ruling: Rule 3.13.4a alters the video review process for the 2023-24 wrestling season with the
addition of a sequence, defined as the time from the alleged error, as stated by the challenging
coach, until the match was stopped (or should have been stopped) by the referee. There are several
issues to address in this scenario, all of which must be accounted for in the video review process.

e Wrestler A would be awarded three points for the takedown - this is confirmed during the
video review.

o Wrestler A would not be penalized for locked hands, however, since Wrestler A never knew
they were in control (the referee did not initially award the takedown). Note also that
Wrestler A would not accumulate any riding time as no advantage can be gained because
of a technical violation or illegal hold.

e Because Wrestler B scored during the wrestling sequence, Wrestler B would be awarded
two points for a reversal and three near fall points (the initial takedown awarded would
be changed to a reversal as on review, Wrestler A had control).

Although a locked hands call would ordinarily require a match to be stopped (sans imminent
scoring), keep in mind that in this scenario, Wrestler A is not being penalized for locked hands. As
a result, all wrestling action that took place can and needs to be accounted for in the wrestling
sequence.

(Rule 3.13.44a, 3.13.4b)

Stalling By Ankle Ride

Question: Wrestler A is in control and after breaking their opponent to the mat applies a bent leg
turk. To counter the turk, Wrestler B begins to crawl forward when Wrestler A reaches back and
grabs the ankle of the turked leg. Is the referee required to immediately start a five-second count?



Ruling: No. Mirroring the interpretation for the bow and arrow (Case Book A.R. 5-3), if the
offensive wrestler (Wrestler A) attempts to put their opponent in a near fall situation (defined as
on their back or in a near fall criterion), the five-second count should not be initiated. An attempt
is defined as a position where, in the sole judgment of the referee, the offensive wrestler is actively
progressing and/or advancing toward a near fall situation.

The referee should, without coaching, utilize appropriate verbal commands (i.e., “improve”) to
ensure that the offensive wrestler is improving their position. If, however, the referee determines
the offensive wrestler is no longer actively progressing and/or advancing toward a near fall

situation, the five-second count shall immediately be initiated.

(Rule 5.7.13)

One-Pound Weight Allowance

Question: Team A is competing in a dual meet on
Friday evening but is also planning on sending several
of their wrestlers not competing in the dual to an
open tournament on the following day (Saturday).
/})25_‘!’%’& Both events appear on Team As wrestling schedule.
e Are the wrestlers competing in the open Team A is
attending eligible for the one-pound weight
allowance on Saturday?

Ruling: No. The spirit and intent of the rule for the one-pound allowance is to provide relief for
wrestlers that are competing on consecutive days. Since none of the wrestlers competing in the
event on Saturday are competing in the dual meet on Friday, Team A would not be eligible to
trigger the one-pound allowance for all those competing in the open tournament.

Follow Up Question: Continuing with the scenario, if three of Team A's wrestlers competing in the
Friday evening dual were also going to compete in Saturday’s open tournament, would Team A
trigger the one-pound allowance for the event?

Ruling: Rule 9.3.2 in the Wrestling Rules Book states, “In order for the 1-pound weight allowance
to be utilized, all back-to-back competitions must be an official team date of competition as per
NCAA bylaws.” An official team date of competition requires a minimum of 7 wrestlers competing
for Division I institutions and a minimum of 6 wrestlers competing for Divisions II and III.

Therefore, for the one-pound weight allowance to be granted, a minimum of 7 wrestlers (DI) or 6
wrestlers (DII & DIII) that competed in Friday’s dual meet must also be registered to compete in
Saturday’s tournament. If a team fails to register the minimum threshold of (eligible) wrestlers
for the second day event, the one-pound weight allowance shall not be granted.

(Rule 9.3.2)



