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Medical Forfeits  

Question: During a tournament, two wrestlers from 

the same team are slated to wrestle one another in the 

semifinals.  Per Rule 9.6.4, matches between 

teammates are not to be counted on the Individual 

Season Record Form (ISRF).  Wrestler B is injured, 

however, and decides to medically forfeit.  Per Rule 

2.3.12.b, unless this was preceded by an injury default 

in Wrestler B’s prior match, the first medical forfeit 

would be counted as a loss on the ISRF for Wrestler B 

and Wrestler A would be credited with a win.  How 

should the medical forfeit be recorded? 

 

Ruling:  In a tournament, if two wrestlers from the same team are slated to compete and one 

wrestler elects to medical forfeit, this will not be charged as a loss on the medically forfeiting 

wrestler’s individual season record form (See Rule 2.3.12.b), as this match was non-allowable for 

the ISRF (See Rule 9.6.4).  The other wrestler will be credited with a win for the purposes of 

advancement only and the win shall not be counted on the ISRF.  

 

(Rules 2.3.12b and 9.6.4) 

 

 

Video Review Challenge / Dead Time  

Question:  Wrestler B is the defensive wrestler and gets turned by 

Wrestler A and pinned.  The coach of Wrestler B, however, throws a 

challenge brick, stating that Wrestler A locked his hands while on the mat 

and before the defensive wrestler was in near fall criterion.  The referees 

review the challenged sequence and determine that Wrestler A did in fact 

lock their hands before Wrestler B was in near fall criterion.  What 

correction needs to be made? 

 

Ruling:   The challenged sequence is defined by the start of the alleged error, as stated by the 

challenging coach, until the match was stopped (or should have been stopped) by the referee.  In 

this case, the sequence begins at the point Wrestler A locked his hands.  Since the match should 

have been stopped at that point, the challenged sequence ends there.  Any wrestling that 

subsequently took place is negated and should be declared dead time. 

 

(Rule 3.13.4a) 

 

 



Grabbing Fingers  

Question:  From referee’s position, Wrestler B, the defensive wrestler, stands 

up and Wrestler A goes to lock their hands around Wrestler B’s waist.  Before 

Wrestler A can lock their hands, Wrestler B grabs the index and middle finger 

of Wrestler B.  Is this permissible? 

 

Ruling:  Wrestlers may grasp one, two, three or all four fingers to break a 
hold, but pulling back the thumb or one, two or three fingers is illegal. 
 
(Rule 5.6.2) 

 
 
Five Second Count  
Question:  Wrestler A, the offensive wrestler, 
drops to the lower leg of Wrestler B while on 
the mat and the referee begins a five-second 
count.  Wrestler B stands up and Wrestler A 
attempts to follow but his knees are still on the 
mat.  Does the five-second count continue? 
 
Ruling:  When dropped to a lower leg, there is 
no mandatory count when both the offensive 
and defensive wrestlers are in the rear-
standing position.  The mandatory count also 
stops if the defensive wrestler is on their feet 
while the offensive wrestler is still on the mat. 
 
 (Rule 5.7.12b) 
 

 

 

 

 

 


