# NCAA DIVISION II WRESTLING COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT <u>AUGUST 2019</u>

The NCAA Division II Wrestling Committee is providing this information to outline key actions taken during the past year and provide notice of upcoming issues. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact a member of the committee or Ryan Tressel (phone: 317/917-6316; email: rtressel@ncaa.org).

#### 2019-20 NCAA Division II Wrestling Committee Members

Region	Name	Institution	Phone	Email
Super Region 1	Brian Tucker	Seton Hill	724-830-1185	btucker@setonhill.edu
Super Region 2	Kelly Revells	Limestone	864-761-6642	krevells@limestone.edu
Super Region 3	Jackie Paquette	Indianapolis	317-788-5008	paquettej@uindy.edu
Super Region 4	Chas Thompson	Fort Hays State	785-628-5392	chthompson@fhsu.edu
Super Region 5	Ann Traphagen	Augustana	605-274-5009	ann.traphagen@augie.edu
Super Region 6	Miles Van Hee	Western Colorado	970-943-2089	mvanhee@western.edu

#### **Review of 2019 Championship**

The 2019 NCAA Division II Wrestling Championship consisted of ten weight classes with 18 participants per weight class for a total of 180 participants. This was the first year of approved qualifier increase from 160 to 180. Fifty-six (56) institutions where represented at the championship site. The finals were held in Cleveland, Ohio at the Wolstein Center. The host was the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission and Ashland University. The national champion was St. Cloud State University and the runner-up was Wheeling Jesuit.

#### **Future Championship Dates**

Year	Selections	Regionals	Championship	Location
2020	Mar. 2	Feb. 28- Mar. 1	Mar. 13-14	Sioux Fall, South Dakota
2021*	Mar. 1	Feb. 26-28	Mar. 12-13	Birmingham, Alabama
2022	Feb. 28	Feb. 25-27	Mar. 11-12	St. Louis, Missouri
*Indicate	s festival year.			

#### 2018-19 Wrestling Sponsorship (as of September 2018).

Division I	75	Division II	63	Division III	108
------------	----	-------------	----	--------------	-----

## Annual Meeting

The 2020 national committee meeting is currently scheduled for April 13-15, 2020 in Indianapolis.

## Rules Committee.

As a reminder a separate rules committee was formed such that the sport committee retains oversight of the championships and related processes and the rules committee will specifically handle all rules-related matters. The 2019-20 Members of this committee include the following individuals.

#### Division I.

John W. Smith, Oklahoma State University Jamie Severns, Virginia Military Institute Jack Maughan, North Dakota State University Matt Valenti, University of Pennsylvania

Division II.

Cy Wainwright, Newberry College

Austin DeVoe, Colorado School of Mines

Division III.

Brad Bruhn, State University of New York at Cortland Lonnie Morris, Johnson & Wales University

Chuck Barbee (Secretary Rules Editor), Tim Shiels (New National Coordinator of Officials), Jim Thornton (Medical) and Ashlee Follis (NCAA Rules Liaison) will also work with the committee. For more information, please visit the <u>Wrestling Playing Rules</u> page located on the ncaa.org website.

## **Officiating Program.**

The committee will work with the National Coordinator of Officials, Tim Shiels, to enhance the identification, recruitment, training and evaluation of officials.

The postseason selection criteria that will be used to select the referees for championship assignment (super regionals, finals) across all three divisions are as follows:

- Score 86 percent or higher on the annual rules test (which will be managed through the NCAA's Center Mat website through ArbiterSports at <a href="http://ncaawrestling.arbitersports.com">http://ncaawrestling.arbitersports.com</a>).
- Evaluations through NCAA evaluators program.
- Coaches rankings.
- Referee an NCAA qualifying tournament.
- Referee a minimum of 10 NCAA dates during the current wrestling season.
- Participate in an NCAA referee/rules clinic annually.
- Past performance at NCAA tournament.

All wrestling officials who wish to officiate NCAA wrestling matches during the regular season and NCAA postseason must be registered on ArbiterSports. The NCAA has created the Center Mat website, which is housed on the ArbiterSports platform and will serve as the official site for NCAA wrestling rules and officiating. The site will house the NCAA rules book, interpretations, points of emphasis, as well as videos, testing and periodic rules and mechanics updates. Clinic information, postseason assignments and the annual rules test will be administered through the site.

## <u>Key Items</u>

- Augustana University and the Sioux Falls Sports Authority are the hosts for the 2020 Championship which will take place at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.
- All information pertinent to NCAA championships will continue to be communicated through the monthly newsletters and will be posted to each respective championship page on NCAA.org. *If you have any questions or would like to have someone added to the distribution list, please contact <u>NCAAchampsnewsDII@ncaa.org</u>*
- Reminder that coaches have complimentary access to Center Mat to review rules updates, as well as search registered officials. Coaches are encouraged to routinely visit Center Mat for rules updates and officiating points of emphasis. <u>http://ncaawrestling.arbitersports.com/front/107525/Site</u>
- The 2019 Championships was the first year of 180 qualifiers (increased by 20 qualifiers) along with an updated six super region model in which 30 qualifiers would come from each super region. Due to sponsorship adjustments details on modifications to the super regions can be found on the Division II wrestling sport landing page <u>LINK</u>.
- Super Region sites for 2021 (and the 2020 Super Region 4 site) have also been approved and can be found on the Division II wrestling sport landing page – <u>LINK</u>.
- Super Regional hosts for 2021(and Super Region 4 for 2020) have been approved. Bid portal for super regional bids for the 2022 will open early January. With a deadline to submit by March 27, 2020.