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Note: Use the following code to analyze these situations:

R =RECEIVING TEAM S =SERVING TEAM
R1=RIGHT BACK S1=RIGHT BACK
R2 =RIGHT FRONT S2 = RIGHT FRONT
R3 = CENTER FRONT S3 = CENTER FRONT
R4 =LEFT FRONT S4 = LEFT FRONT

R5 =LEFT BACK S5 =LEFT BACK

R6 = CENTER BACK S6 = CENTER BACK

Hair Jewelry
Hair jewelry (as seen in this picture) is considered jewelry and therefore not legal. Braided hair

with beads must be secured so as not to present a safety hazard to the player, teammates or
opponents.
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Q-Collar

The Q-collar is worn around the neck to prevent concussions. It is legal to wear
during competition. Helmets worn on the head are not legal unless the athlete has received a
waiver from the NCAA.

Situation 1

Team A asks who their next server is. The scorer informs them that #5 is the server. Player #5
serves 3 points. Team B wins the rally and is awarded a point. Before Team B serves, the scorer
realizes that #5 was not the correct server, and #2 should have served. The referees put Team A in
their correct postions and Team B serves.

Ruling: The referee’s decision is incorrect. Since Team B has not yet served, this is a
correctable error. The 3 points scored by the wrong server are removed, Team A is put in correct
order, and play continues with Team A #2 serving.

Situation 2

During pregame warmups, the referees notice that 3 out of the 10 Team A players are wearing
white jerseys, and 7 players are wearing blue jerseys. The referees explain that everyone can
play, but an administrative sanction will be assessed and a point awarded to Team B prior to the
start of the set.

Ruling: The referees are incorrect. Since Team A has enough players to play (7), Team A may
only play with those players. The players in the white jerseys may not play unless a player is
designated as the libero. No administrative sanction is assessed.

Situation 3
The substitutes are using pom-poms and waving stuffed animals as part of their celebrations
while in the warm-up area. The referees allow this behavior.

Ruling: The referees are incorrect. With the exception of volleyballs, only necessary and
“game-related equipment” can be used/held in the warm-up area.



Situation 4

After a very long rally, Team R hits the ball in the net and Team S is awarded the point. Team R
coach challenges that Team S was in the net. The second referee accepts the challenge and starts
looking for a net fault from the start of the rally.

Ruling: The referee’s review process is incorrect. The second referee and the coach must come
to a mutual agreement regarding the approximate point in the rally when the coach believes the
net fault occurred Only that portion of the video is reviewed.

Situation 5

The Team S setter is near the net, attempting to save a pass from a teammate. As the ball nears
the plane of the net, a Team R blocker attempts to contact the ball while it is over the opponent’s
court. The first referee determines Team R blocker did not contact the ball and allows play to
continue. Team R wins the point, and the Team S coach challenges, stating that the Team R
blocker contacted the ball while it was still on their side. After conferring with the first referee,
the second referee accepts the challenge since the first referee confirms that he would have called
“reaching over” if he observed that the Team R blocker touched the ball. During the review, the
second referee sees that the Team R blocker did not contact the ball, but she did touch the net.
The second referee confirms the original outcome since the only thing that can be ruled upon in
this challenge is whether the blocker touched the ball.

Ruling: The second referee accepted the challenge correctly, but the final decision is incorrect.
When a challenge involves a touch decision, the result of the review can be “in/out,” “touch,” or
“net/no net.” The second referee should whistle and signal the net fault on Team R, identify the
player at fault by number, and award Team S the point.
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The “bundle,” as it is commonly called, is applied on any challenge for “in/out,” “touch,” or “net
fault” regardless of when during the play the challenged action occurred. For a challenge that
occurs in the middle of a rally, the second referee can only look at the specific part of the play
that was challenged.



Exam Question Clarification

Question: At the end of a rally, Team R’s head coach expresses frustration to the first referee
regarding the referee’s decisions. At the same time, a Team R assistant coach questions the
second referee regarding the first referee’s judgment. How should the referees handle this
situation?

A. The head coach is responsible for bench conduct and should be assessed an individual
sanction because two coaches may not address the referees at the same time.

B. The assistant coach should be assessed an individual sanction because two coaches may
not address the referees at the same time.

C. The assistant coach should be assessed an individual sanction because assistant coaches
may never address the referees or intervene in the match.

D. Either A or B, at the first referee’s discretion.

Explanation: Rules 5.2.4.3 and 6.1.3 are the relevant rule references. This question was
intended to test a referee’s knowledge of the process for handling a situation in which a coach
and an assistant coach address the referees about a referee’s decision or judgment. Questioning a
judgment decision by any coach or team member is subject to a conduct sanction. In answers
“A” and “B”, the wording “because two coaches may not address the referees at the same time”
is no longer part of the rules. Only the head coach may question a non-judgmental decision or
request a rule clarification. An assistant coach may only verify the number of timeouts,
substitutions, or challenges used by the team, or may request a lineup check, timeout, or
substitution. When a conduct sanction is necessary, it may be assessed to the head coach, who is
responsible for proper conduct of the team members, or to the assistant coach/team personnel
who questioned the referee’s decision, at the first referee’s discretion. However, our training
indicates that the referees should usually sanction the coach at fault, which would be the assistant
coach if he or she is addressing the referees about a judgment call.



