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NOTE:  Use the following code to analyze these situations: 

                  R = RECEIVING TEAM S = SERVING TEAM 
 R1 = RIGHT BACK  S1 = RIGHT BACK 
 R2 = RIGHT FRONT  S2 = RIGHT FRONT 
 R3 = CENTER FRONT  S3 = CENTER FRONT 
 R4 = LEFT FRONT  S4 = LEFT FRONT 
 R5 = LEFT BACK  S5 = LEFT BACK 
   R6 = CENTER BACK    S6 = CENTER BACK 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Q-Collar  
The Q-Collar is considered legal equipment and not head gear. The NCAA allows use of this 
device during play provided the referees determine it is safe and does not pose a risk to other 
players. An NCAA waiver is not necessary, 
 
Correctable Errors 
Situation 1: The Team S coach ask for their next server and is informed that player S3 is the 
next server.  S3 serves 3 points. The scorer informs the second referee that S6 should have been 
the server.  The second referee has the 3 points S3 served removed and has S6 serve.   
 
Ruling: The second referee is correct. The incorrect information given to the coach immediately 
led to a fault and must be corrected without penalty/sanction. 
 
Situation 2:  The Team S coach ask for their next server and is informed that player S3 is the 
next server.  S3 serves and Team R wins the rally.  The scorer informs the second referee that the 
original information was incorrect, and S6 should have been the server.  The second referee has 
the Team R point removed and has S6 serve. 
 
Ruling: The second referee is correct.  Since Team R had not yet served, the players are put in 
their correct positions and has S6 serve.  Pro Tip:  The second referee should not only ensure 
Team S players are in correct order but also make sure Team R players are in correct serving 
order.  



 
Situation 3:  The Team S coach asks for their next server and is informed that player S3 is the 
next server.  S3 serves 2 points. S3 serves again and Team R wins the rally.  R6 serves and 
scores a point. The scorer realizes she gave incorrect information to Team S and S6 should have 
been the correct server in place of S3. The second referee has S6 replace S3 and verifies Team S 
is in their correct positions.  R6 continues their term of service.  
 
Ruling:  The second referee is correct.  Since Team R served, no points are removed from either 
team.  The error was discovered after Team R served therefor the mis-information would not be 
considered immediate. 
 
Situation 4:  During a rally S4 takes a hard shot to their temple while trying to block.  The 
player shakes their head then turns to continue play.  The referee asks if they are okay to play 
and the player gives a thumbs up.  The referee allows play to continue. 
 
Ruling:  The referees are not correct.  The officials should stop play for the injury to ensure that 
the student-athlete is evaluated by a health care professional.  The athlete may return to play only 
with permission from the health care professional.  A simple guide to the official’s role is: 
“When in doubt, call an injury timeout.” 
 
Situation 5:  At the end of the rally the Team R coach wants to challenge that the ball crossed  
the net outside the antenna.  The referee tells the coach that a ball crossing outside the antenna is 
not a challengeable action.  
 
Ruling:  The referee is incorrect.  A ball contacting, crossing over or outside the antenna would 
result in an “out” call. In/out decisions can be challenged. 
 
 
 
 
 


