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NOTE:  Use the following code to analyze these situations: 

                  R = RECEIVING TEAM S = SERVING TEAM 
 R1 = RIGHT BACK  S1 = RIGHT BACK 
 R2 = RIGHT FRONT  S2 = RIGHT FRONT 
 R3 = CENTER FRONT  S3 = CENTER FRONT 
 R4 = LEFT FRONT  S4 = LEFT FRONT 
 R5 = LEFT BACK  S5 = LEFT BACK 
   R6 = CENTER BACK    S6 = CENTER BACK 
 
 
 

Situation 1:   A Team R player bends down to tie their shoes. The shoelace breaks and needs to 
be replaced.  The second referee informs the coach they must immediately take a timeout or 
substitute for the player.   
 
Ruling:  The referee is incorrect.  Shoes are required equipment, thus the referee should allow 
the player 30 seconds (approximately) to solve the problem. At the end of the 30 seconds the 
coach has the option to substitute or call a timeout. 
 
Situation 2:  Several Team S players are wearing different colored detached arm sleeves that 
are not attached to the uniform top.  The second referee informs the Team S coach that all the 
sleeves must be the same color.  
 
Ruling:  The second referee is incorrect.  Passing sleeves and detached sleeves (not attached to 
the uniform) are not considered required equipment.  Like knee pads and socks teammates are 
not required to wear identical detached sleeves. 
 
Situation 3:  At the end of the rally a Team R player loses their contact lens on the playing area.  
Play is stopped and players start looking for the contact.  After 30 seconds the second referee 
instructs the coach they must take a timeout if they want to continue looking for the contact.  
 
Ruling:   The second referee is incorrect.   Contacts lenses are considered necessary medical 
equipment. The referees should allow a reasonable amount of time needed to locate the 
contact. 
 



 
 
 
Jewelry:  All the images above show illegal jewelry.  In the first two photographs the posts are 
not small or secured.  The small piercing in the last photo is illegal because hoops are not 
allowed.  In addition, necklaces, rings, bands on the hand, arms, or other jewelry below the 
neck are all illegal.  Please continue to enforce this new rule.   
 
CRS Interpretations 
 
Situation 4:  Two Team R players collide as they play the ball. The first referee determines that 
the contact was not simultaneous. Team R players contact the ball two more times before 
sending it over the net.  The first referee whistles and signals four hits.  The Team B coach 
wants to challenge the contact was simultaneous. The second referee accepts the challenge. 
 
Ruling:  The second referee is correct.  The challenge category is touch.  If the video shows 
simultaneous contact the challenged decision is reversed and a replay is signaled.  
 
Situation 5:  The second referee calls a net fault on Team R.  The Team R coach wants to 
challenge that Team S was reaching over the net.   
 
Techniques/Ruling: Before accepting the challenge the second referee should ask the first 
referee the reason why they did not rule that Team S was illegally reaching over the net.  If the 
response is that the first referee did not see a Team S player touch the ball, the challenge can 
be accepted.  If the first referee’s response is that a Team S player did touch the ball, but the 
ball was in the plane of the net, Team R cannot challenge that play.  
 
Situation 6:  The second referee calls a net fault on Team S.  Team S challenges the net fault.  
The first referee tells the second referee that if the video review shows no net fault, the first 
referee would have called Team R for illegally reaching over the net on the same play.  
 
Techniques/Ruling: The referees must determine which fault happened first using the video. 
However, both coaches should be informed before the review that the first referee is calling 
Team R for an illegal reach-over. If the video review shows that there was no net fault on Team 
S, the first referee’s determination of an illegal reach-over on Team B would be the play-ending 



decision.  If the video shows that there was a net fault on Team S, but it happened after the 
illegal reach-over by Team R, the reach-over would be the play ending decision.  If the video 
shows that there was a net fault on Team S that occurred before the illegal reach-over by Team 
R, the call is confirmed.   
 
Situation 7:  The second referee calls a net fault on Team S.  Team S challenges the net fault. 
The first referee tells the second referee that if the video review shows no net fault, the first 
referee would have called Team S for illegally reaching over the net on the same play.     
 
Techniques/Ruling:  The Team S coach should be informed that the video review will not 
reverse the call, no matter what is seen regarding the net fault.  If the video review 
 shows that there was no net fault, the first referee’s determination of an illegal reach-over on 
Team S would be the play-ending decision.  In any case, Team R will win the rally and serve 
next. 
 
Situation 8:  A Team S attacker hits the ball to the floor and hits the net on the follow through.  
The second referee whistles a net fault. Team S challenges the ball was down before the net 
fault occurred.  
 
Techniques/Ruling:  If the review shows that the ball landed prior to the attacker’s net fault the 
call is reversed, resulting in a point for Team S.  If the second referee is not able to see the ball 
hit the floor due to camera angle or speed the play stands 
 
 
Rule Book Correction 
Rule 6.5.1 - Page 25: Add the highlighted line to the end of the rule 
Failure to comply with Rules 7.1.1.1 and 7.1.2 will result in an administrative red card (point) for 
non-compliant uniforms.  This is a one-time assessment and does not impact individual or team 
sanctions.  An administrative sanction does not change the service order. 
 
Rule 7, Situation 4 - page 97  
Situation 4:  A Team R player is wearing a black patch sewn on the sleeve with a small (less than 
1-inch) numeral “5” in the middle. When asked, they inform the referees that the patch is a 
commemorative to a former teammate. 
 
Ruling:  Commemorative patches or other special patches are allowed, but not all teammates 
are required to wear the patch.  The player wearing the patch is not in a legal uniform. unless 
all of her teammates have the same commemorative insignia on their uniforms. (See Rule 
7.1.3.2) 
 
 


