NCAA DIVISION II WOMEN'S LACROSSE BULLETIN NOVEMBER 2019

The NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse Committee is providing this information to outline key information. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact a member of the committee or Donisha Carter, NCAA coordinator, championships and alliances (phone: 317-917-6652; dcarter@ncaa.org).

2019-20 NCAA Committee Members

Katrin Wolfe Atlantic Region Associate Athletic Director for Compliance East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania

Dean O'Keefe, chair Director of Athletics Stonehill College East Region

Midwest Region

Regan McAthie Associate Athletic Director/ Senior Woman Administrator Concordia University, St. Paul

Laura Taube South Region Senior Woman Administrator University of Alabama at Huntsville

2019-20 Regional Advisory Committees

<u>Atlantic</u>

Katrin Wolfe, East Stroudsburg Kayte Mills, Post Chris Mckibben, Georgian Court Kevin Cooke, Mercyhurst

East

Dean O'Keefe, Stonehill Abbey Capobianco, Assumption Dawn Sachs, Mercy

Dan Hagenlocher, NYIT

Midwest

Regan McAthie, Concordia-St. Paul

Rob Harris, Davenport Hunter Given, MEC Monica Potter, Colorado State-Pueblo Alex Koehler, Colorado-Colorado Springs David Buck, Findlay Erica Brown, Tiffin Jackie Paquette, Uindy Kirk Lamitie, Lewis

<u>South</u>

Laura Taube, Alabama-Huntsville Caitlin Hansen, Saint Leo Jen Mercurio, Florida Tech Amelia Maher, SAC Kristina Llanes, Mars Hill Grant Kelam, Mount Olive John Fitzgerald, Belmont Abbey

Championships/Management Council Actions

- Approved the date formula for first- and second-round games during festival years. First- and second-round games will mirror the championship conducted Thursday and Saturday effective 2020 championship.
- Approved the re-seeding of the four teams advancing to the championship final site effective during the 2019 championship.

Championship Selection Criteria

Bylaw 31.3.3 – Criteria for Selection of Participants. To be considered for championship selection, a team must satisfy all scheduling requirements as outlined by championships policy in that sport (e.g., minimum number of Division II or in-region contests). The following criteria shall be employed by a governing sports committee in selecting participants for NCAA championships competition:

- Availability of student-athletes for NCAA championships;
- Nullification;

Selection Criteria

Following confirmation of the availability of studentathletes for NCAA championships and the application of any nullification, the following required selection criteria shall be applied in no particular order:

- Overall Division II in-region winning percentage;
- Overall Division II winning percentage;
- Overall Division II strength of schedule (opponents' average winning percentage and opponents' opponents' average winning percentage);
- Division II head-to-head competition; and
- Results versus Division II common opponents.

In addition to Bylaw 31.3.3, the Division II Women's Lacrosse Committee has received approval from the Division II Championships Committee to consider the following criteria in the selection of at-large teams for the Division II Women's Lacrosse Championship (not necessarily in priority order):

- Division II results versus teams with .500 record or better;
- Performance Indicator (PI).
- Rating Percentage Index. (RPI).

Teams must play a minimum of 10 games in-region and have a .500 record.

An institution desiring to participate in the championship must complete all games before the final scheduled selection call of the Women's Lacrosse Committee.

Additionally, input is provided by regional advisory committees for consideration by the women's lacrosse committee. Coaches' polls and/or any other outside polls or rankings are not used as a criterion by the women's lacrosse committee for selection purposes.

Future Dates and Sites

2020 Championship Dates (*NOTE: Festival year)

Selections:	Sunday, May 3
First/Second Rounds:	Thursday and Saturday, May 7 and
	9
Semifinals/Final:	Thursday and Saturday, May 14 and 16
	Host: Lindenwood University and
	the St. Louis Sports Commission;
	Harlen C. Hunter Stadium, St.
	Charles, Missouri.

2021 Championship Dates

Selections:Sunday, May 9First/Second Rounds:Friday and Sunday, May 14 and 16Semifinals/Final:Friday and Sunday, May 21 and 23Host:Mountain East Conferenceandthe City of Salem; KerrStadium, Salem, Virginia.

2020 Bracket Format

<u>May 7 & 9</u>

- Combined first- and second-round sites.
- Four teams at the host sites of the top seeds; games played Thursday and Saturday.

• Winners of first round play Saturday.

May 14 & 16

 Semifinals and Final at Harlen C. Hunter Stadium in St. Charles, Missouri.

Four Region Model

The region breakdown is as follows:

Atlantic Region

Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference

East Region

East Coast Conference Northeast-10 Conference

Midwest Region

Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Great Lakes Valley Conference Great Midwest Athletic Conference Mountain East Conference Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference

South Region

Conference Carolinas Gulf South Conference South Atlantic Conference Sunshine State Conference

Annual Meeting

The national committee will meet in conjunction with the championship. If you have topics that you would like the committee to discuss, please forward them in writing to Donisha Carter at the NCAA by May 4, 2020.