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Rules Resources 

The NCAA Rules Interpreter is Janette Doucette, email address  wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com 

Please submit rules questions by electronic mail only.  Please provide your name and institution, or if a judge, include 

your name and state. 

The 2023-24 NCAA Rules Modification Document and Meet Procedures is found at  

https://www.ncaa.org/sports/2013/12/5/gymnastics-rules-of-the-game.aspx 

The Women’s Gymnastics Supplemental Procedures and Forms document, which contains Video Review Form, 

Inquiry /Routine Summary Form and Meet Referee Checklist is found at 

https://www.ncaa.org/sports/2013/12/5/gymnastics-rules-of-the-game.aspx 

The USAG Women’s Developmental Program Optional 2022-26 Code of Points (USAG Dev Prog COP) is purchased 

from  https://usagym.org/women/development/optionals/  Click on choice of Full/mini size book or eBook and 

follow directions.   

Updates to the USAG Dev Prog COP are found on  https://members.usagym.org/pages/women/updates/jo.html  

Includes USAG Dev Prog COP replacement pages, Committee meeting minutes and a slideshow overview. 

The Women’s Program Rules & Policies can be downloaded from https://usagym.org/women/rules/  Click on current 

year’s version. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Clarification from WCGA for the hold deduction:  

Rules Modification 1.7 On Vault, Uneven Bars and Balance Beam – Failure to hold the finishing 

position of 1 second = an additional 0.5   

From WCGA: The gymnast must show a controlled finish position (legs straight, arms up) for 1 

second at the completion of the routine. This position must be held facing the direction in which 

they landed. If the gymnast fails to hold the finish position for 1 second, a .05 deduction will be 

taken. All applicable landing deductions will be taken until the gymnast holds a controlled finish 

position for 1 second. 

If a gymnast falls on the landing/dismount, the hold deduction would NOT be taken. 

Vault 

Q:  For the deduction for failure to correctly apply the Vault landing lines on the top landing mat 

surface – is the 0.2 Team deduction applied one time for the team, or for each gymnast when the lines 

are missing? 

A:  Clarification from the WCPC: The 0.2 final team score deduction is applied as a ONE TIME TEAM 

DEDUCTION per competition. Reference: Rules Modifications, Equipment Penalties section 6.2.c 
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Q:  A gymnast is training to perform a Cuervo Vault (USAG vault #2.405): a handspring – ½ twist to 

backward pike salto.  What is vault number in the NCAA Vault Value Chart? 

A:  It is vault number 1.12: handspring—pike salto ½ twist.  The NCAA Vault Value Chart does not distinguish 

the timing of the post-flight twist for salto vaults with a twist, unlike in the USAG Dev Prog COP.  Reference: 

Rules Modification, Appendix I. NCAA Vault Value Chart; USAG Dev Prog COP, Vault element #2.405 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Balance Beam 

Q:  For a front roll mount on beam (#1.107), the code simply says, “roll forward”, but the drawing 

shows it finishing a stand.  Will a swing-through exit of this mount be considered the same 

value/skill?  Also, can you please confirm that this mount will count as a front/side skill for 

composition? 

A:  Yes. The gymnast will still be given element value if she exits the roll in a swing-through, since she has 

completed the required action of rolling 360° rotation over her head that defines a roll.  The skill number 

1.107 shows the designation of “FA”, so it is considered a Forward Acro element to fulfill the composition 

requirement.  Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Balance Beam element #1.107; for FA explanation block, see 

page BEAM-45. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Floor Exercise 

Q:  The salto performed as last isolated salto or within the last salto connection must be a minimum C 

for the special requirement. If an athlete performs a butterfly forward (#5.104) at the end, is it 

considered a salto or dance element?  Would the butterfly fulfill this special requirement or 

receive the 0.2 deduction? 

A:   No, the butterfly, element #5.104, is an “A” acro element and is not considered a salto.  If the butterfly is 

performed at the end of the routine (after the last acro pass containing a C salto), it would not fulfill the 

special requirement, nor would it have a 0.2 deduction as not being a last C value salto. It would just add 

an A value part.  Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Floor Ex element #5.104; Rules Modifications, Section 5. 

Floor Exercise, Special Requirements 5.2.c.  

Q:  Will the side salto on Floor Ex fulfill the front/side skill composition requirement? 

A:   Yes, if she takes off from two feet to the side salto.  There is a new clarifying box inserted into the element 

diagram on FX (element #7.101), that states if the side salto has a one-foot take off, it will appear as an 

aerial/side salto, and will not be considered a salto for the special requirement or composition (acro 

direction).   Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Floor Exercise element #7.101. 

 

Supplement: Examples of applying the hold in finishing position 0.5 deduction for VT, 
UB, and BB landings, from the WCGA: 

 
Q:  What if the gymnast lands and turns toward the judge(s)/crowd with arms up and holds the finish 

position for 1 second 
A:  .05 deduction will be taken for not holding the finish position for 1 second in the direction of the landing 

prior to turning to present.  
 
Q:  What if the gymnast sticks the landing, holds for 1 second in the landing position with arms in front, but 

fails to hold the finish position for 1 second? 
A:  .05 deduction will be taken 
 
Q:  What if the gymnast sticks the landing, holds for 1 second in the landing position and then holds the finish 

position for 1 second? 
A:  No deduction will be taken 
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Q:  What if the gymnast finishes while moving in the direction of the landing, but never stops completely 

before turning to the judge(s)/crowd? 
A:  All applicable landing deductions will be taken (up to -.4) and an additional .05 will be taken for failing to 

hold the finish position for 1 second 
 
Q:  What if the gymnast finishes short of the twist being attempted on the dismount or vault and continues the 

turn during the landing phase, but comes to a complete stop and holds the finish position for 1 second? 
A:  All applicable execution and landing deductions will be taken, but the additional .05 hold deduction will 

not be taken.  
 
Q:  What if a gymnast falls, stands up, and then holds the finish position for less than 1 second? 
A:  No deduction will be taken 
 
Q: What if a gymnast is injured during a routine, or upon landing, and cannot complete the hold in the finish 

position for 1 second? 
A:  If an injury occurs and the gymnast cannot complete the exercise, or vault, standing, the .05 hold 

deduction should NOT be taken. 
  
Q:  What if the team runs onto the mat and interferes with the completion of the routine before the finish 

position is held for 1 second?  
A:  .05 deduction will be taken 
 
Q:  What if you hold the finish position for 1 second with your arms down? 
A:  .05 deduction will be taken 
 
Q:  What if a gymnast turns quickly after landing and holds the finish position NOT in the direction they 

landed? 
A:  .05 deduction will be taken 
 
Q:  What if a gymnast HOLDS the finish position for 1 second in the direction she lands, but does not close her 

heels 
A:  All applicable execution and landing deductions will be taken, but the additional .05 hold deduction will 

not be taken. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Janette Doucette 
NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Rules Interpreter 

wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com 
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