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Women’s Gymnastics 2022-24 Rules Cycle 
Rules Newsletter # 17 
January 15, 2024 
________________________________________________________________ 
Rules Resources 

The NCAA Rules Interpreter is Janette Doucette, email address  wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com 

Please submit any questions for rule interpretation by electronic mail only.  Please provide your name and 
institution, or if a judge, include your name and state. 

The 2023-24 NCAA Rules Modification Document and Meet Procedures direct link is  
https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-24PRWGY_RulesModifications.pdf 

The Women’s Gymnastics Supplemental Procedures and Forms document, which contains Video Review Form, 
Inquiry /Routine Summary Form and Meet Referee Checklist, direct link is: 
https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-2024PRWGY_SupplementalForms.pdf 

The USAG Women’s Developmental Program Optional 2022-26 Code of Points (USAG Dev Prog COP) is 
purchased from  https://usagym.org/women/development/optionals/  Click on choice of Full/mini size book or 
eBook and follow directions.   

Updates to the USAG Dev Prog COP are found on  https://members.usagym.org/pages/women/updates/jo.html  
Includes USAG Dev Prog COP replacement pages, Committee meeting minutes and a slideshow overview. 

The Women’s Program Rules & Policies can be downloaded from https://usagym.org/women/rules/  Click on 
current year’s version. 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

General 
Q:  Is there an archive summary of the 2022-23 rules newsletters available? 

A:  Yes, there are two sources: the NAWGJ.org website >NCAA>Rules & Clarifications >Rules News 
Archives (scroll to the bottom) and click in the box “select files”.  It will drop down the listing of all the 
previous newsletters, to include (at the top) a Rules News Archive published on Mar 21, 2023.  The 
NCAA.org Women's Gymnastics Rules of the Game website also lists current Rules Newsletters, with 
the Rules Newsletter Archive compilation for 2022-23 available under March 2023. 

Q:  Once a written inquiry is submitted for a routine, and it fails, can the coach follow up with a 
video inquiry, or should it be handled with the video review procedures?  

A:  A video review is the only avenue for the coach to appeal an inquiry result.  A coach may not substitute 
a video inquiry for a video review in the event that the coach is unsatisfied with the results of a 
(written) inquiry. 

Reference: Rules Modifications Section 7.1 Video Review Process, first paragraph. 

Q:  Can a coach submit both a written inquiry and a video inquiry on the same routine?  

A:   No. Clarified by the JAS Committee. 

mailto:wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com
https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-24PRWGY_RulesModifications.pdf
https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-2024PRWGY_SupplementalForms.pdf
https://usagym.org/women/development/optionals/
https://members.usagym.org/pages/women/updates/jo.html
https://usagym.org/women/rules/
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https://www.ncaa.org/sports/2013/12/5/gymnastics-rules-of-the-game.aspx
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Vault 
Q:  A gymnast runs and hits the board moving forward (like going for a handspring), does NOT 

invert, jumps onto her feet on the table, runs across it and lands on the landing mat.  Is it a balk 
or a vault? 

A:  It is a vault.  The WCPC has clarified that “since the gymnast went OVER the table, it would be 
considered a Vault.”  Note: since it is not a vault listed in the vault table as performed, it is void. 

Reference: Rules Modification Vault Section 2.3, second bullet 

 

Balance Beam 
Q:  If an athlete performs a series of BHS + BHS + layout step-out (B+B+C) and then later 

performs a BHS + layout 1 ½ twist dismount, can she receive CV for the dismount, even though 
she performed 3 different BHS’s throughout using different connections? 

A:   Each element can be repeated a second time with a different connection (into or out of it) to receive 
VP both times. If those two performances are successful, a repeated third time cannot receive VP. In 
your example, if all three back handsprings are step-out (#7.208), the THIRD time would be 0 VP 
regardless of connections and not eligible for CV bonus in the dismount series.   

However, if your gymnast is performing at least 2 different numbered back handsprings, each with 
different connections, she will receive CV for the dismount. For example, if she performs her acro 
series as gainer back handspring (#7.211)- back handspring step-out (#7.208)- back layout salto step-
out (#8.304), then later performs a dismount series of back handspring step-out (#7.208) to back 
layout salto 1 ½ twist (#9.306) => she receives VP for every back handspring.  The gainer back 
handspring is a different element (different #) and the next two back handsprings are in different 
connections. 

Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Section 1 General, Chapter 3 Evaluation of Optional Exercises 1.3.I.C 
pages GENERAL 16-17 

Q:  How much is a front aerial-back handspring-back layout step out triple series worth on beam 
and why?  

A:  The front aerial walkover (#7.402=D) – back handspring (#7.208=B) – back salto layout step-out 
(#8.304=D) series happens to be specifically listed as an example in the Rules Modifications in Beam 
Connection Value Exceptions 4.4.d.5, showing a total of +0.5. 

The breakdown:  

• B+C+C or greater acro series receives +0.2 CV in the bonus rules.   

• The D value part elements each receive DV bonus: +0.1 for the front aerial and +0.1 for the back 
layout step-out.   

• Then the additional bonus for the 3-element acro series (Rules Modification 4.4.d) adds +0.1 to 
the series.   

Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Section 4 Beam, Chapter 4 Bonus, 4.4.C Connections of 3 Acro Flight 
Elements, second rule B+C+C, page BEAM-34; Rules Modifications 4.4.c and 4.4.d. 

Q:  There are several beam mounts that are not given FA/SA/BKA directional designations for acro 
direction composition, such as a jump press handstand mount from the side of the beam with ¼ 
turn (cartwheel finish to lunge, #1.210), or chest stand (#1.108).  Why? 
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A:  The elements to be used for forward (FA), side (SA) or backward (BKA) acro composition 
can only come from Groups 1-Mounts, 6-Rolls, 7-Walkovers/cartwheels, and 8-Saltos.  The USAG 
Technical Committee determined that the root skills of these handstand/hold mounts are in the Group 
5- Holds/Stands, which are not considered FA/SA/BKA eligible elements, so maintained that concept 
in designating direction for acro mount elements. 

Reference: Rules Modifications Beam section, 4.2.a.2; USAG Dev Prog COP Beam element charts. 

Q:  Does a front kick to handstand count as FA and side kick to handstand count as SA (both 
#5.106)? 

A:   No. Group 5- Holds/Stands cannot be used for forward, side or backward acro composition. 

Reference: Rules Modifications Beam section, 4.2.a.2. 

Q:  For element #4.103 (side body wave), I was wondering if you could give specific details of each 
position the athlete must pass through/hold, to receive A value part credit? 

A:  For an A value part credit to be given to a side body wave to balance stand for 2 second #4.103, judges 
need to see a large (obvious) side contraction (bending in the waist, tipping upper body and head) to 
one side, then the other (legs optional), moving smoothly, to finish standing in high relevé and held 
for 2 seconds. 

Reference: USAG Dev Program COP Beam element #4.103, and block description of ‘balance stand’, on 
page BEAM-67. 

 

Floor Exercise 
Q:  What is the bonus for the following tumbling pass: salto forward tucked (#6.101)- round off 

(#5.105)-salto backward layout 1½ twist (#8.301)- salto forward layout salto (#6.201), A + C 
+ B? 

A:  +0.2 total.  This pass shows an example of overlapping indirect (A+B+C) and direct bonus rules 
(C+B) but only one rule may be applied in this case. The bonus application rule states that we can 
only overlap one counting skill (use it twice) when determining bonus connections with 3 or more 
elements.  In this case, the direct bonus (B+C=+0.2) is applied - to the benefit of the gymnast - 
and the indirect rule (A+B+C indirect = +0.1) would not apply.   

 Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Section 5 Floor Exercise, Chapter 4 Bonus, 5.4.I.I connection of 3 or more 
elements, page FLOOR-29…and 5.4.II.D  Connections of 3 or more elements, Example 3, page FLOOR-38. 

Q:  Can a coach step onto the floor to remove a four inch or sting mat during a floor routine with no 
deduction? 

A:   Yes. A coach may step on the floor ex mat without penalty “when placing, adjusting, or removing a 
mat”.   

Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Section 5 Floor Ex, Chapter 1 General Information, 5.1.V.A. Coach on FX 
Area, on page FLOOR-4. 

 

 

 

Janette Doucette 
NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Rules Interpreter 

wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com 


