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Rules Resources

The NCAA Rules Interpreter is Janette Doucette, email address wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com

Please submit any questions for rule interpretation by electronic mail only. Please provide your name and
institution, or if a judge, include your name and state.

The 2023-24 NCAA Rules Modification Document and Meet Procedures direct link is
https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-24PRWGY_RulesModifications.pdf

The Women’s Gymnastics Supplemental Procedures and Forms document, which contains Video Review Form,
Inquiry /Routine Summary Form and Meet Referee Checklist, direct link is:

https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-2024PRWGY_SupplementalForms.pdf

The USAG Women’s Developmental Program Optional 2022-26 Code of Points (USAG Dev Prog COP) is
purchased from https://usagym.org/women/development/optionals/ Click on choice of Full/mini size book or
eBook and follow directions.

Updates to the USAG Dev Prog COP are found on https://members.usagym.org/pages/women/updates/jo.html
Includes USAG Dev Prog COP replacement pages, Committee meeting minutes and a slideshow overview.

The Women’s Program Rules & Policies can be downloaded from https://usagym.org/women/rules/ Click on
current year’s version.

General
Q: On Vault, Bars and Beam: Does the one second hold occur before or after heels come together?

A: After. The clarification of the hold deduction states, “All applicable landing deductions will be taken
until the gymnast holds a controlled finish position for 1 second.” Since putting the heels together is
considered a required landing adjustment (must be together or 0.05 - 0.1 deduction), there would be a
deduction if the heels are not together when showing the hold. Therefore, ideally, for no
deduction, the gymnast should put her heels together, THEN hold 1 second in the finish position (legs
straight, arms up).

References: Rules Newsletter #13 Nov 1 23, Clarification for hold in finish position deduction, and
Supplemental Examples of hold deduction — last Q&A; USAG Dev Prog COP, Section 1 General — Chapter 3
Optional Exercises — V. Execution — C. General deduction listing, Small Faults — Lands with Feet Apart,
page GENERAL-21.

Q: Is a pit pillow an allowable mat at an NCAA competition?

A: The “pit pillow” (alternate skill cushion) is not allowed for use in competition as a landing mat. It is
allowed only for use in vaulting warm-ups or for bar releases (in and out as needed), if it is available
at the meet site.
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References: USAG Women’s Prog Rules & Policies, Chapter 10 Equipment Specifications — Vault VILH.4. on
page 107, - and — Uneven Bars X.G, page 109.

Is there a deduction for a mat sliding when a gymnast lands?

No, there is no deduction for mat sliding in the rules. However, any landing deductions would be
taken.

Vault

Q:

A:

If an athlete is performing a Yurchenko vault and the hand mat slides during the roundoff
portion of the vault, is this considered equipment failure? Would she be able to repeat the vault?

No. In USAG Dev Prog COP, Section 2 Vaulting — I. Apparatus Specifications, 2.1.E.2. (page VAULT-2),
it states that “If hand placement mat slips on the runway, it is NOT considered apparatus or personal
equipment failure” and “This is NOT a reason to repeat the Vault without penalty”.

Balance Beam

Q:

Is there a minimum number of dance shapes required on beam?

No. There is no requirement in the rules.

: A gymnast performs back handspring (#7.208) connected to back layout (#8.304) in series but

falls on the layout without touching the beam with either foot. Will she get the UTL deduction,
no D bonus and no acro series credit?

The athlete will NOT receive the following: acro series, D value part, +0.1 DV, CV bonus for the series,
nor will the series attempt be eligible to fulfill UTL. The acro series received no credit due to a 0 VP,
not because of a break in the series or a fall on the second value part element.

References: USAG Dev Prog COP Section 4 Beam — Chapter 1 General Info — V. Recognition of VP,
4.1.V.D.2. Element incomplete, page BEAM-10; Rules Modifications 4.2.d.; Rules Newsletter #14
November 15, 2023, Clarification for UTL.

: A gymnast on beam performs the following: a front aerial landed with a large wobble and falls

off the beam. She gets back up, does another front aerial, stops, performs some backward
choreography and then performs a third front aerial connected to a back handspring. How do I
count value parts, bonus, acro series, and UTL?

Referring to the rule of using an element multiple times, value part credit is awarded when an element
is performed a third time in the case that the first or second time it was NOT awarded.

o First time front aerial walkover (#7.402) = D. It is performed isolated. The gymnast receives no
+0.1 DV due to the fall.

o Second time front aerial walkover (#7.402) = 0 value part. It is performed isolated, so considered
the same as the first front aerial walkover.

o Third time front aerial walkover (#7.402) connected to back handspring (#7.208) = awarded
D+B acro series (fulfills SR), D value part for the front aerial, and it receives the +0.1 DV.

o The gymnast receives 0 CV acro series bonus, due to the NCAA connection value exception rule for
that particular series (Rules Modifications 4.4.c.)

o UTL is awarded: since the acro series does not have CV bonus, an additional D/E acro or E dance
element is required (Rules Modifications 4.2.d). She did perform a separate front aerial walkover
(first time performance) that received a D, so it fulfills this requirement.
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References: USAG Dev Prog COP, Section 4 Beam — Chapter 1 General Information — V. Recognition of
Value Parts, 4.1.V.A.4.d. EXCEPTION, page BEAM-7; Section 4 Beam — Chapter 4 Bonus — V. Bonus
Restrictions, 4.4.V.B.2. Repeated D/E Element, page BEAM-41.

Q: Gymnast performs a switch split leap #2.305 and takes 2 steps forward. Later in the routine
Gymnast performs switch split leap #2.305 + switch split leap #2.305. For the 3™ Switch Split
Leap, will the gymnast receive "C" value part credit, Special Requirement Dance Series 0.2
credit, and + 0.2 (C+C) CV credit?

A: No. VP credit is awarded for an element performed for the third time only if NOT previously awarded
VP credit for the first and second time.

o The first switch split leap (#2.305) is performed isolated (standing to standing) = C VP awarded.

o The second switch split leap (#2.305) is performed from standing -to- connect to a switch split leap
= C VP awarded (different exit than the first time).

o The third switch split leap (2.305) = 0 VP, regardless of connections. This means that the series of
switch split leap - switch split leap is considered C + 0 in VP, therefore no special requirement
dance series is awarded, and no connection value (CV) bonus is awarded.

Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP, Section 4 Beam — Chapter 1. General Information — V. Recognition of
Value Parts, 4.1.V.A.4.d EXAMPLE 2, page BEAM-7.

Floor Exercise

Q: Is a waterfall (front toss to seated position) a value part skill on floor?

A: Yes. The element is listed in the USAG Dev Prog COP as element #5.103 - an aerial walkover forward
in a tucked position to a two-foot landing. It is noted in the box within the diagram that it would
“appear as a kick-over salto forward”. This is an A element and is NOT considered a salto for Special
Requirement or Compositional purposes. It is an allowable variation to land on one leg to a seated
position and maintain the A value.

Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Floor Exercise element #5.103

Janette Doucette
NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Rules Interpreter
wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com
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