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Women’s Gymnastics 2022-24 Rules Cycle 
Rules Newsletter #19 
February 15, 2024 
________________________________________________________________ 
Rules Resources 

The NCAA Rules Interpreter is Janette Doucette, email address  wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com  Please submit any 
questions for rule interpretation by electronic mail only.  Coaches: Please provide your name and institution. 
Judges: please provide your name and state. 

The 2023-24 NCAA Rules Modification Document and Meet Procedures direct link is  
https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-24PRWGY_RulesModifications.pdf 

The Women’s Gymnastics Supplemental Procedures and Forms document, which contains Video Review Form, 
Inquiry /Routine Summary Form and Meet Referee Checklist, direct link is: 
https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-2024PRWGY_SupplementalForms.pdf 

The USAG Women’s Developmental Program Optional 2022-26 Code of Points (USAG Dev Prog COP) is 
purchased from  https://usagym.org/women/development/optionals/  Click on choice of Full/mini size book or 
eBook and follow directions.   

Updates to the USAG Dev Prog COP are found on  https://members.usagym.org/pages/women/updates/jo.html  
Includes USAG Dev Prog COP replacement pages, Committee meeting minutes and a slideshow overview. 

The Women’s Program Rules & Policies can be downloaded from https://usagym.org/women/rules/  Click on 
current year’s version. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

General 
Q:  During the 4-minute touch warm-up period, can gymnasts warm-up using the mats/Floor Ex 

areas that are open (no other team is using)? 

A:  No.  A gymnast may NOT us the “open” event to warm-up once the competition has started.  They may 
only use the matting surrounding the event on which they are currently competing.  Per clarification 
by the WCGA.  Reference:  Rules Modifications, Appendix IV Regular Season Meet Procedures, 3.2.c. 

Q:  Can you explain when it is appropriate to submit an inquiry related to a neutral deduction or 
unusual occurrence?  What exactly is a neutral deduction or unusual occurrence? 

A:  Neutral Deductions are those that are listed as Chief Judge Deductions, meaning deductions taken from 
the average score of the judging panel.  These deductions include overtime on Beam/Floor Ex, 
stepping outside the Floor Ex boundary lines, failure to remove the board after a mount, and the 
like.  The Chief Judge Deduction Table begins on page GENERAL-7 in the USAG Dev Prog COP, Section 
1 General Information - Chapter 1 Judging Panels.  Each event section also highlights specific Chief 
Judge Deductions for that event on pages VAULT-2 to -4, BARS-30, BEAM-27, and FLOOR-25.  

Additional neutral deductions specifically for the NCAA competitions are listed in the Rules 
Modifications 6.2, 6.3, 6.4, and 6.5, such as failure to correctly apply the Vault landing lines on the top 
landing mat, or gymnast out of uniform. 

mailto:wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com
https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-24PRWGY_RulesModifications.pdf
https://ncaaorg.s3.amazonaws.com/championships/sports/gymnastics/rules/2023-2024PRWGY_SupplementalForms.pdf
https://usagym.org/women/development/optionals/
https://members.usagym.org/pages/women/updates/jo.html
https://usagym.org/women/rules/
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Unusual Occurrences are if something happens that is not usual during the progress of an exercise, 
such as equipment failure, incomplete exercise, or stopping the routine because of a bleeding wound. 
Examples are listed in the USAG Dev Prog COP, Section 1 - General Info - Chapter 4 Unusual Judging 
Situations starting on page GENERAL-26. 

Q:  What happens if a gymnast performs her whole routine, but one judge missed the routine (due 
to a pen failure, for example) and cannot give a score?  

A:  The Chief Judge, after consultation with the Meet Referee, would notify the coach the score of the 
judge who evaluated the routine, and offer a choice of two options to proceed: 
1. Accept the score as the final score, or 
2. The gymnast repeats the routine and the second set of scores will count. 
 
Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP, Section 1 General Info – Chapter 4 Unusual Judging Situations – IV. 
Judge Inadvertently Misses the Exercise, page GENERAL-28. 

Q:  Are athletes allowed to wear a nose septum ring? 

A:  No. The nose septum ring is NOT allowed, since it is a hoop-style piercing.  Please note that a nose 
hoop ring or hoop earrings are also not allowed.  Only stud piercings are permitted. 

Reference: Rules Modification 6.4 Jewelry. 

Q:  Can a Meet Referee call a conference if the two scores are within range and the start values are 
both 10.0? 

A:   No. A Conference may only occur when:  
o counting scores are out of range,  
o if there is an impossible Start Value,  
o an UTL that can have an impact on the average score, or  
o if an inquiry is submitted.  
 
There is no published rule that states that a Meet Referee (MR) can call a conference, except when the 
MR is presenting a valid inquiry form to a judging panel.  However, the MR may offer opinion/counsel 
during conferences if they are called due to the permitted circumstances.  
 
Reference: Rules Modification 6.6.f.; Supplemental Procedures – Meet Referee During Meet Duties. 
 

Q:  If a walking Meet Ref observes an out of bounds infraction on Floor Ex and the panel of judges 
did not see it, does she/he have the authority to tell the Chief Judge of the observation so the 
deduction may be taken?  Is there a procedure for how she/he provides this information to the 
Chief Judge? 

 A: The duties of the Meet Referee do not include observing and notifying the Floor Exercise judging panel 
of out of bounds infractions.  The out of bounds determination is assigned to the line judge, or, in the 
case of no designated line judge, to the judging panel.  Any member of the Floor judging panel may 
notify the Meet Referee if an out of bounds deduction was inadvertently not entered in the scoring 
system, so the Meet Referee can make the change at the scorer’s table. 

Reference:  Supplemental Procedures and Forms Document –  Meet Referee During Meet Duties; USAG 
Women’s Prog R&P, Chapter 6 General Meet Info – G.7.a. Scoring; USAG Dev Prog COP Section 1 General 
Info – Chapter 2 Scoring – III.E.1. Time Frame for Changing a Score. 

Q:  What are the deductions if the coach touches the equipment while a gymnast is competing? 

A:  Vault: There is no penalty if a coach inadvertently touches the vault table or makes contact with the 
Safety Zone mat while standing between the board and vault table (inside domain).  This location is 
permitted with no penalty for Round-off entry vaults ONLY. If Coach stands there for any other style of 
vault, it’s a 0.5 deduction. 
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Bars: There is no penalty for a coach to lean on the bars while spotting (without necessarily touching 
the gymnast).  However, the coach cannot remain between the bars for the whole routine (0.1 
deduction). 

Beam: There is no mention of allowing the coach to touch the beam, even during spotting.  The coach 
cannot remain beside the beam for the entire routine (0.1 deduction). 

Floor: The coach receives a 0.3 deduction if she/he steps within the FX boundaries, except to remove 
an object which may impede/endanger the athlete, or when placing/removing/adjusting a 
supplemental mat. 

Currently, there is no specific rule or deduction listed to indicate that a coach cannot touch the vault, 
bars or beam while not actively spotting the gymnast while she is competing. 

References: USAG Dev Prog COP-- Section 2 Vault – Chapter 1 General Info – 2.I.E.3. Coaching deductions, 
pg VAULT-4; Section 3 Uneven Bars – Chapter 1 General Info – V. Spotting Regulations 3.1.V.G and 
3.1.V.F., pg BARS-4; Section 4 Beam - Chapter 1 General Info – 4.1.III.E. Spotting Regulations, pg BEAM-
4; Section 5 Floor Ex - Chapter 1 General Info – 5.1.V.A Coach on FX Area, pg FLOOR-4. 

 

Balance Beam 
Q:  Can you give some clarification on what is “supplemental support”, and when is the deduction 

taken? 

A:  Supplemental support is more than an incidental brush by a foot on the mat or beam base.  If the 
gymnast uses the mat or beam base to sustain a pose (as a static balance support point) or to help 
execute an element (uses as a source of force), then this is considered supplemental support, and 
would incur the 0.3 deduction.   Using the underside surface of the balance beam itself does not count 
as supplemental support, as it is used by many elements in the code (for example, chest stand 
#1.108).   

Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP, Section 4 Balance Beam – Chapter 3 Execution and Artistry table – Large 
Faults under the Use of Supplemental Support, page BEAM-29. 

Q:  Can you explain the difference between the two similar beam dismounts under #9.202, and 
which one has the NCAA exception for a C: the front aerial full twist dismount of the end of the 
beam and the “Mabrey”, a front salto stretched with a full twist. 

A:   The element skill chart for #9.202 has two elements in it, with two different take-off styles. 

o The first element is the front aerial walkover with 1/1 twist, where the gymnast steps forward 
onto the front leg, and kicks the back leg upward and over, which is an aerial take-off style. That is 
the B element off the end of the beam. 

o The second element, a “Mabrey”, is a salto forward - tucked #9.202. This salto has a gainer-style 
of take-off - it’s described in the element box as “from a stand on one leg - swing the free 
leg backward to salto forward tucked with 1/1 twist off the side or end of beam.”   

o The NCAA exception chart (Rules Modifications 4.3) states the exception element within #9.202 is 
described as the “Mabrey” - the gainer front salto - in a STRETCHED position for the C value, and 
the tucked position remains a B value. Unfortunately, there is no diagram to show this element; 
however, the lower diagram in #9.302 shows the swing of the leg more accurately while 
dismounting off the end of the beam.  

The two elements move similarly once in the air, but the way the element propels off the beam makes 
it either an aerial or a single-leg take off (gainer) salto.   

Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP – Beam element chart #9.202; Rules Modifications 4.3 
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Q:  While performing a dismount on beam, a gymnast knocks off the beam end cap while falling.  
Does this count as equipment failure?  Is the gymnast allowed to repeat her dismount series? 

A:  Per clarification by the USAG Women’s Technical Committee: “If a gymnast knocks off the beam end 
cap with her foot during her dismount, after the cap is replaced, the gymnast may repeat her dismount 
and the judging continues from the point of interruption.   This is not considered equipment failure.”  
The gymnast may repeat her dismount series after a reasonable amount of rest time.   

Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Section 1 General Info – Chapter 4 Unusual Judging Situations – II.A. 
Continue from the Point of Interruption. 

 

Floor Exercise 
Q:  Drawing a small chalk arc line is permissible in the floor corners. Are additional tape or chalk 

lines in the corners or on the floor permissible? 

A:  Yes, additional small chalk lines are permitted on the floor area, but tape is not allowed on the Floor 
Exercise mat. However, it is not permissible to put other marks on the supplemental landing 
mats other than any taped boundary lines.  

Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Section 1 General – Chapter 1 Judging Panels – Chief Judge deduction 
Table under Excessive Use of Magnesia, page GENERAL-9; Section 5 Floor Ex – Chapter 1 General Info 
5.1.I.B.4, page FLOOR-2 

Q:  If a marked supplemental landing mat slides out of bounds upon landing with the gymnast on it, 
is the gymnast out of bounds and would then receive the deduction? 

A:  If the mat slides, and the gymnast is now standing, or takes steps, outside the Floor Exercise 
boundaries, she is considered out of bounds.  If she takes a step inside the taped lines on the 
supplemental mat, but the step is outside the Floor Exercise boundary lines, she is considered out of 
bounds.   

Resource: USAG Dev Prog COP Section 5 Floor Ex – Chapter 3 Execution – I. Chief judge Deductions chart, 
page FLOOR-23 

Q:  Does the rule for multiple performances of the same element stated in the Feb 1st Rules 
Newsletter (Balance Beam, Q#3) apply to Floor Exercise as well?  So, if a gymnast has one acro 
pass front layout-rudi and the second pass a front layout-front layout, will she receive credit for 
both layouts in the second pass? 

A:  The rule for using the same skill multiple times applies on all events.  So, in this example, the first two 
performances of the front layout salto are each given B value part because they have different 
entrance/exit.  The third front layout salto receives 0 VP regardless of entrance/exit since the first two 
performances were successful, and she would not receive credit for the second acro pass. 

  Reference: USAG Dev Prog COP Section 5 Floor Ex – Chapter 1 General info – VI. Recognition of Value 
Parts, 5.1.VI.A.3., page FLOOR-6. 

 

 

Janette Doucette 
NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Rules Interpreter 

wgym.ncaa.rules@outlook.com 


