

REPORT OF THE NCAA WOMEN'S GYMNASTICS COMMITTEE APRIL 9, 2020, TELECONFERENCE

ACTION ITEMS.

- 1. Legislative items.
 - None.
- 2. Nonlegislative items.
 - 2022 National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships regional host.
 - a. <u>Recommendation</u>. That the Division I Competition Oversight Committee approve the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as the host for one of the 2022 National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships regional locations.
 - b. Effective date. Immediately.
 - c. <u>Rationale</u>. The committee solicited bids for one of the 2022 regional locations after the originally selected host withdrew due to a change in the facility construction timeline.

The committee noted the following priorities when reviewing received bids: geographical location sites, conference affiliation of selected hosts and time zones of sites. With the regional format recently decreasing from six sites to four, it is important to select hosts in various parts of the country and on various time zones to assist with travel and time adjustments for selected institutions. The committee reviewed all bids and noted Illinois matched all outlined priorities and the facility provided ample floor space and locker rooms for student-athletes. It was also noted Illinois had been selected to host a regional during the previous bid cycle, but when the new format reduced the number of sites from six to four, they were removed as a host.

- d. Estimated budget impact. Nothing outside traditional operating expenses.
- e. <u>Student-athlete impact</u>. The committee believes the recommended host will provide a memorable championship experience for all participating student-athletes.

Committee Chair: Jessica Chrabaszcz, Yale University

Staff Liaison: Morgan DeSpain, Championships and Alliance

NCAA Women's Gymnastics Committee April 9, 2020, Teleconference

Attendees:

Jessica Chrabaszcz, Yale University.

NCAA National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Committee April 9, 2020

Page No. 2

ixasey crawiora, chrycisity or wisconsin-La crosse	Kasey Crawford	. University	of Wiscon	nsin-La Crosse
--	----------------	--------------	-----------	----------------

Erin Kido, Eastern Michigan University.

Melissa Kutcher-Rinehart, University of Denver.

Jenny Rowland, University of Florida.

Randy Solorio, California State University, Sacramento.

Maria Woods, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Absentees:

None.

Guests in Attendance:

None.

NCAA Staff Support in Attendance:

Donisha Carter, Championships and Alliances.

Morgan DeSpain, Championships and Alliances.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

None.