
 
 

 

2019 NCAA Field Hockey Clarifications 

Updated April 11, 2019 

 

The spring non-traditional season has begun and the 2019 FIH rules and NCAA 

modifications have been approved. The 2019 NCAA Field Hockey Modifications document 

will be completed later this spring, but the major rules modifications are available here. We 

have received a number of questions already, so that we all can stay ahead of the process, 

please review the weekly clarifications and we will do our best to keep up wth the questions. 

 

April 11, 2019 

Question 1: If a player gets sent back on a corner, does the time stop? If so when?  

Answer: Yes, once the umpire blows the whistle to reset the penalty corner, the time would stop 

again. When the penalty corner is re-set, the umpire should bring time back in. No regrouping at 

the top of the circle or on the defense. 

 

Question 2: On a penalty corner, an attack player on the circle enters before the ball is inserted. 

Which player should be sent to the 50 yard line? 

Answer: Rule 13.6.e… if an attacker enters the circle before permitted, the player taking the 

push or hit from the backline (inserter) is required to go beyond the center-line : the penalty 

corner is taken again. 

 

April 3, 2019 

Clarification 1 edit: A suspended player whose suspension time expires during a penalty corner 

can come on the field once their time has expired. They do not have to wait beyond the suspension 

time to return to play. A substitute for a suspended player may not enter until a proper susbstitution 

is allowed after the completion of a penalty corner. There is a distinct difference between a re-

entry and a substitution. 

 

Question 1: If on a penalty corner the defense or attack goes into the circle too soon and a player 

is sent to the midfield line, does the clock stop again to reset the penalty corner? 

Answer: Yes, the clock is to stop again to reset the penalty corner. This should be done 

immediately and there is no allowance for regrouping at the top of the circle or on the defense. 

 

Question 2: What happens if the inserter inserts the ball before the umpire indicates time to come 

back in on a penalty corner? 

Answer: The inserter shall to be sent to the center line as this is considered a “fake”. It is the team 

/player responsibility to know to wait until the umpire restarts play. Umpires should also help to 

manage this proactively. 

 

Question 3: If a suspended player is out when a penalty corner is called, can they go in during the 

stoppage time if their suspension time would have expired during the stoppage? 
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Answer: No, The suspended players time is either over before the penalty corner or after the 

penalty corner has started. The suspension is based on “game clock time,” no stoppage time for 

the setting up of a penalty corner is taken from the suspension. 

 

 

March 26, 2019 

 

Question 1: Did the substitution rule change for 2019 as it relates to a penalty corner? 

Answer: No, the penalty corner must be completed before a substitute can enter. The ball must go 

at least 5 meters outside the circle (dotted circle) for the penalty corner to be over. 

 

Clarification 1: A suspended player whose suspension time expires during a penalty corner can 

come on the field once their time has expired. They do not have to wait beyond the suspension 

time to return to play.    

 

Question 2: On a penalty corner, when the umpire blows the whistle to start, is there any other 

signal necessary by the umpire? 

Answer: No, the whistle is the indication to begin the penalty corner. 

 

Clarification 2: Once the umpire is satisfied that all are ready and the whistle is blown, it is 

expected that the penalty corner insertion take place at that point. Not necessarily instantaneous, 

but without gamesmanship. 

 

Question 3: On a penalty corner and after the umpire restarts time to begin the penalty corner, a 

defender or attacker enters the circle too early, does the clock stop once the umpire blows the 

whistle to re-set the penalty corner? 

Answer: Yes, the clock is to stop to reset the penalty corner. Once it is reset, the umpire will blow 

the whistle to restart the penalty corner.  

 

Question 4: What time frame is acceptable for setting up a penalty corner now that the time is 

stopped for the setup? 

Answer: The average penalty corner takes 30-45 seconds to set up properly prior to stopping the 

clock. Thus, this timeframe is quite acceptable. The penalty corner setup should not be rushed by 

the umpires nor delayed by the teams just because the clock is stopped. Any undue delay will result 

in a misconduct penalty to the delaying player, not the captain.  

 

Question 5: Between quarters, must the team come off the field and onto the sideline, or can the 

coaching staff meet the team halfway onto the field? 

Answer: Meeting the team on the field is ok as long as they do not take more than the allotted 

time for the break. 

 

Clarification 3: The team that has possession of the ball at the start of the match will also have 

possession to start the second quarter. The opponent will have possession to start the third and 

fourth quarters. Teams DO NOT change direction until after halftime. 
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