

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISIONS I, II AND III FIELD HOCKEY COMMITTEES FEBRUARY 2, 2021, JOINT VIDEOCONFERENCE

<u>ACTION ITEMS</u>.

• None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. **2020 joint meeting report.** The committees approved the 2020 joint committee report as submitted.
- 2. Officials training and Arbiter central hub. Steve Horgan, NCAA coordinator of officials and rules interpreter, joined the meeting to discuss training of officials and plans for content on the Arbiter central hub.
- 3. Rules subcommittee update. Lynn Farquhar provided the following update:
 - **a.** There will be no FIH rule updates until after the Olympics; therefore, there are no new rules to evaluate at this time.
 - **b.** NFHCA bylaws were updated in January 2021 (the rules committee group was removed; see <u>https://nfhca.org/resources/documents/bylaws/</u>).
 - **c.** The Division I Field Hockey Committee moved its annual meeting to June to review the championship/playing season.
- 4. Dates for 2022 annual meeting. The committees agreed to hold the annual meetings on January 31-February 1, 2022.
- 5. Other business. The divisional chairs (Steve Kanaby, Michael McFarland and Ashley Smeltzer-Kraft) provided their respective committee updates:
 - **a.** Division I The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, is hosting the postponed 2020 championship in the spring. A new chair will be elected at the annual meeting in June.
 - **b.** Division II Stacey Gaudette, associate director of athletics/SWA at Mercyhurst University, was elected as chair beginning in September 2021.
 - c. Division III A regional realignment will be implemented in 2021-22 in which the conference makeup in some evaluation regions will change. The championship bracket was approved to increase to 26 teams, but funding was put on hold because of budget constraints due to COVID-19. Jacqueline DeMarco, head field hockey coach/administrator at Kenyon College, was recommended as chair beginning in September 2021.

Committee Chairs: Steve Kanaby, Colonial Athletic Association. Michael McFarland, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania, Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference. Ashley Smeltzer-Kraft, Shenandoah University, Eastern College Athletic Conference.

Staff Liaisons:	John E. Bugner, Championships and Alliances.
	Roberta Page, Championships and Alliances.
	Kelly Whitaker, Championships and Alliances.

Divisions I, II and III	Field Hockey Committees
February 2, 2021,	Joint Videoconference

Attendees:		
Britt Broady, University of California, Davis		
Chrissy Chappell, Connecticut College.		
Jodi Cipolla, Endicott College.		
Megan Cross, State University of New York Athletic Conference.		
Jacqueline DeMarco, Kenyon College.		
Lynn Farquhar, Saint Joseph's University.		
Stacey Gaudette, Mercyhurst University		
Jennifer Gilbert, Miami University (Ohio).		
Steve Kanaby, Colonial Athletic Association.		
Penny Kempf, Rowan University.		
Becca Main, Quinnipiac University.		
Caitlyn Prandato, Harvard University.		
Michael McFarland, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania.		
Carolyn King-Robitaille, St. Anselm College.		
Ashley Smeltzer-Kraft, Shenandoah University.		
Absentees:		
Patricia Bonagura, Molloy College.		
Guests:		
Steve Horgan, NCAA coordinator of officials and rules interpreter.		
NCAA Staff:		
John Bugner, Zach Christopher, Leslie Havens, Caleb Kolby, Roberta Page, Ethan Walker and Kelly Whitaker.		