

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION I MEN'S AND WOMEN'S TRACK AND FIELD AND CROSS COUNTRY COMMITTEE APRIL 17, 2020, TELECONFERENCE

ACTION ITEMS.

• None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

1. Cross Country Regional Qualifying Review. The Division I Men's and Women's Track and Field and Cross Country Committee received an update from the NCAA cross country subcommittee that had been formed to further evaluate a qualifying system for regional cross country. At the direction of the Division I Championships Finance Review Working Group, the committee has been charged with reducing the number of cross country regions and participants as well as developing a qualifying system to the Division I cross country regional championships. The committee is exploring a five-region model that provides a percentage of access to NCAA postseason opportunities similar to other NCAA sports. The five-region model aligned by conference affiliation would allow teams that win their conference championships to qualify automatically as a team to the regional championships. The committee continues to discuss the team at-large selection component, as well as an individual qualifying component that will be part of the qualifying system. Timeline for implementation is being considered at the earliest for fall of 2022.

Committee Chair:Milan Donley, University of Kansas, Big 12 ConferenceStaff Liaison:Jeff Mlynski, Championships and Alliances

NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Track and Field and Cross Country Committee April 17, 2020, Teleconference
Attendees:
Trey Clark, Lamar University.
Abbie Day, University of Maryland, Baltimore County.
Milan Donley, University of Kansas.
Elvis Forde, Temple University.
Sean Harris, Pac-12 Conference.
Amy Horst, Loyola University Maryland.
Jennifer Lawlor, Monmouth University.
Ervin Lewis, University of North Florida.
Wendy McFarlane-Smith, University of Delaware.
Sharlene Milwood-Lee, Farleigh Dickinson University.

National Collegiate Athletic Association

NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Track and Field and Cross Country Committee April 17, 2020 Page No. 2

_

Ryan Orner, Xavier University
TJ Shelton, The Ohio State University.
Absentees:
None.
Guests in Attendance:
None.
NCAA Staff Support in Attendance:
Jeff Mlynski, Championships and Alliances.
Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:
Micaela Liddane, Championships and Alliances.