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With the decision of the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee to use the double first base during 
the 2025 postseason, more conferences and institutions are planning to use the rule during the 
regular-season and therefore more attention is being paid to the various play situations that can 
develop when using the rule.  There were some excellent questions posed and feedback provided.  
Additional language has been added to clarify the questions and align the double first base rule 
with other existing rules and accepted procedures.  The major questions raised were as follows: 

1) What if there is no initial play made on the batter-runner on a ball hit within the infield?  
For example, a ground ball is misplayed, rolls away from the infielder and no initial play 
at first base is made or a play is made on another runner at a different base and no initial 
play is made at first base.  Is the batter-runner still required to only touch the white part of 
the base?  Solution:   An interpretation was added to #4 to allow the batter-runner to touch 
either base in this situation.  In these situations, the batter-runner often rounds the base to 
assess the situation similar to when the ball is hit to the outfield. 

2) On a close play at first base, the batter-runner beats the throw but clearly touches only the 
white portion of the double base.  Some suggested that the batter-runner should be called 
safe and then the defense could appeal the call.  This is not how the play would be 
administered if the batter-runner had missed the base by stepping just short of the base, to 
the side of the base, or overstepping the base.  The batter-runner is required to touch the 
colored portion of the base in order to be safe.  For consistency with existing rules, this 
situation should be handled in the same way.  In any situation, the umpire is only going to 
rule that a runner missed touching a base if they clearly saw the entire runner’s foot miss 
the base.  Procedures to correct the call using the guidelines in the “Getting the Call Right” 
section in Appendix E could still be used to make sure that the correct call is made.  An 
umpire should never make a call incorrectly (in this case, calling the runner safe when they 
clearly saw that the proper base was not touched) and then relying on an appeal to correct 
it.  The procedure for making no call and waiting for an appeal when a batter-runner 
oversteps the base and has both feet on the ground beyond the base is consistent with other 
rules and was the original intent of the initial language of the rule. 
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Updated Guidelines for Double Base at First Base – Rule 1-7-b 
 

Interpretation: When using the double first base the following guidelines shall be followed to 
properly administer the playing rules. 
 

b. The double first base may be used during regular-season and postseason competition. 
1) A batted ball hitting or bounding over the white portion of the bag is a fair ball. A batted 

ball hitting or bounding over the colored (orange or green) bag without first touching or 
bounding over the white section is foul. 

2)  When an initial play is being made on the batter-runner at first base, the defense must use 
the white section of the double base and the batter-runner must use the colored base with 
the following exceptions.  

Exception 1—On a dropped third strike, the fielder and batter-runner may touch 
either the white or colored base. After a dropped third strike, if the fielder is drawn 
to a position in foul territory on the side of the colored base to receive a throw, the 
runner may touch the white base in order to avoid a collision.  Normal running lane 
restrictions still apply. 

Exception 2—When the defense fields a fair batted ball or throws from foul 
territory near first base to make a play on the batter-runner, or when an errant throw 
pulls the defense off the white portion of the base into foul ground, the batter-runner 
may use either portion of the double base and can run the last few steps to the base 
in fair territory in an effort to avoid a collision. In this situation, normal running lane 
violation rules do not apply; however, if intentional interference is ruled, the batter 
runner would be out. If the intentional interference is deemed to be flagrant, the 
runner will also be ejected. In this exception, the defense is still required to touch the 
white base to complete the force play. 

3)  If there is a play on the batter-runner and the batter-runner clearly touches only the white 
portion of the double base, it is treated the same as missing the base.  If this failure to touch 
the proper base occurs during a close play and the batter-runner has not passed the base 
with both feet, the batter-runner should be called out.  If the batter-runner clearly beats the 
throw to first base but misses the base and has both feet on the ground beyond the back 
edge of the base, the batter-runner would be called out if the defense appeals prior to the 
batter-runner returning to first base.  The proper mechanic is for the umpire to make no call 
on this play as the batter-runner has not yet touched first base. 

4)  On extra-base hits or other balls hit to the outfield when there is no chance for a play to be 
made at the double base or other plays within the infield when there is no initial play made 
on the batter-runner, the batter-runner may touch either the white or colored section of the 
base. Should, however, the batter-runner reach and go beyond first base, they may only 
return to the white section of the base. 

5) Once the batter-runner reaches first base, they shall then use only the white base. 
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Rationale: 
The guidelines above will provide guidance to umpires, players and coaches regarding the proper 
application and mechanics when games are played with a double base at first base.  
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